You Capture – holiday-ness favorites

So, confession time here.  When I realized today was Wednesday and I hadn’t knowingly taken any pictures for this week’s You Capture, I had to go back to Beth’s post from last week to look up what the challenge was.  It was to take creative pictures of your favorite holiday stuff.  Creative in composition or creative in editing.  So I tried a little bit of both.  I’m not a big holiday decorator.  My mom always had stuff for every season throughout the house.  Me? Not so much.  I blame the kids.  Since they are schooling at home all my decorations seem to disappear into bedrooms or new spots.  My mom insinuated once that it was because of my *tongue in cheek* poor parenting.  (No offense was taken, mind you.)  I very *tongue in cheek* back at her replied that maybe my kids are more creative with their time.  *wink wink* Yeah, creative.  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it!  Anyway.  Stockings.  I have always loved the look of stockings hanging over the fireplace.  We have the fireplace, but we have no mantel.  So we have used stocking hangers.  Everyone has their own stocking.  I have mine that was made for me by someone when I was born. (I don’t remember if it was family or close friend at the time. I should probably ask.)  Here’s the back side of it.  Yes, I was a bicentennial baby.

Then each Christmas after each of the girls was born, my mom bought them their own stocking.  Here’s a close-up and detail of SmartyPants’.  (You gotta love LL Bean!)

Next up is Sass’.

Here is Sweet Pea’s

She loves the fact that it is Rudolph!

And last but not least.  Here is T’s.  T didn’t have a special stocking at Christmas when he was a kid, so I think it was our second Christmas of being married my mom had someone make him one.  Simple and sweet.  (My only beef with it is that the toe points in the opposite direction as the rest of ours and I can never figure out where to put it in the mix without it looking odd to me. But then again, even though I’m not mathematically talented like Barb or Jessica, I like symmetry.)

And as I was checking out my Christmas tree looking for a favorite ornament (that I didn’t have a name on it) I found this one.

This reminds me of our first Christmas together as a family of three.  I was just about to start getting sleep by Christmas time and was coming out of the “new, first-time mommy fog”.

So there you have it.  My favorite holiday decorations.

You should check out everyone else’s captures. (I’ll insert the link as soon as Beth posts!)

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mathmama on December 16, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    Yeah, that whole symmetry thing would drive me NUTS! from one of your mathEmatically minded friends!

    Lots of love to all of you!

    (and we just have a big pile of stockings and pick one each year!)

  2. Lovely! I like the story that goes with all the stockings.

  3. I love all the stockings. There’s a story behind the stocking in my family, too.

  4. I love the stockings stories. My mom made our stockings when we were kids and I loved how they were all different!

  5. Posted by mrssoup on December 17, 2009 at 9:49 am

    Stockings are so great! I love stories about them….

  6. Love the store about the stockings… great captures!!!

  7. I have that same teddy bear stocking! So cute!

  8. I have that very same ornament! It was the year that my last baby was born, so it has a picture of all four of the kids together.

  9. I love the stockings! Especially Rudolph. 🙂

  10. I’m all about symmetry…that stocking would drive me nuts, LOL! And yay Bicentennial Babies!

Leave a Reply

