My baby, Sweet Pea

My dear Sweet Pea turns four today.  I remember the day she was born.  I remember her due date being December 22/23, something like that.  I knew that she needed to come early (her sisters were 3 weeks and 1 week early).  I needed her to come on the weekend of the 10th.  I needed this because Traveler would be taking a week off after she was born and then the older two would have two weeks off from preschool for Christmas.  I needed this.  My commute for preschool was 45 minutes on a good day and I needed the three weeks before I was mentally prepared to make that 4-day-a-week drive.  Everyone essentially laughed at me.  Because, really, how can you plan labor?  (I was not going to be induced; things were going to happen on their own.)  And you know what? The night of the 9th, a Friday, I got up to pee around midnight and realized I was having contractions so I started walking around.  They were consistent in length of contractions and time between them – 5-7 minutes.  I was exhausted and wanted to sleep, but I wanted to keep moving if I was going to be having contractions.  I kept having an inner debate as to when to wake T and whether or not I wanted to wake Tiffany and her husband up in the middle of the night.  (They were going to watch the older two girls.)  I finally decided between 5 or 6 to get people up.  I wanted to be gone before the girls woke up so there wasn’t any drama when T and I left for the birth center.  After arriving to the birth center and I was at 5+ cm, I had my doctor break my water.  I wanted to get the show on the road.  I think that happened around 7 am.  Sweet Pea made her appearance at 10:19 am Saturday.  We were home by noon.

Going home.

First Valentine’s Day

First Easter

First birthday

First Steps

First trip to the east coast (Maine)

Cheesy grin with her sisters

Easter with her sisters and cousin.

First (and only) trip to Hershey, PA

Birthday #3

Christmas joy in Orange County

Shiny Blue Blasses (with the dino patch)

Spring 2009

Lake Tahoe summer

One of my favorite times of the day

And my sweet girl with one of her favorite torments

Happy Birthday my girl. For you, I am thankful.

Thank Goodness! Thursdays

6 responses to this post.

  1. Happy, Happy Birthday to Sweet Pea!!

    She is rocking that patch. I love it!

  2. Awww, happy happy birthday!!! Love this look back 🙂

  3. Happy Birthday Sweet Pea! Those pictures are so adorable! The first one and the factory worker one are my faves, though. 🙂

  4. She is so precious! And that face in the 1st picture? OHMYGAWD I LOVE IT! :o)

    Happy Birthday, Sweet Pea!

  5. Wow – it seems like she was born just the other day. Time flies, doesn’t it?

  6. Happy belated birthday, Sweet Pea!!

    Kirsten, I loved your story about her birth! I cannot believe you were home by noon! Was that the same day? WOW!

    I called BJ sweet pea until he was 3, and then he politely asked me to stop. Love that name.

Leave a Reply

