Black Friday

I have never gotten up at the crack of down for a deal.  Ever.  Until yesterday.  This year things have been tighter than normal and I knew if I was going to get Sass her present from Santa that I needed to get a good deal.  Not only did I break with tradition of sleeping in late on Black Friday, I went to my nemesis. The place I refuse to enter under normal circumstances – Wal-Mart.  I did get the deal.  And then I went to Starbucks and got coffee.  Because, OMG I needed coffee.  Then I went and picked up a friend and we headed to the malls.  We hit the Nike store, the Sanrio store (which we were disappointed wasn’t having any sales and who really needs a freakin’ Hello Kitty canvas bag for $27, but we did get some stocking stuffers), and Gap.  Then we headed to Build-a-Bear where we redeemed lots of coupons and got free stuffed moose.  We hit some more stores and found some more deals.  I didn’t spend that much overall.  I didn’t have a lot to spend, but I got what I wanted: a few deals and some time away from the house with adult conversation.  We got home about 1 p.m.  We had Sass’s little birthday celebration with family and friends yesterday evening.  T reheated some roast for tacos and they were delicious!  We ate cupcakes (red velvet with cream cheese frosting) and by evening’s end everyone was worn out.

After getting the kids to bed, T and I hit the hay ourselves.  Snuggled up in bed I decided to check the score on the Boise State/UNR game.  (There is a HUGE rivalry between the two schools.)  Even though we both grew up here and should be UNR Wolfpack fans, the fact that T graduated from Boise State and that Idaho holds a special place in our hearts, we ALWAYS root for the blue and orange.  Have I mentioned that we don’t have cable/satellite?  Well the game was being broadcast on ESPN2.  I thought I’d get a little update on the score and call it a night, but low and behold ESPN was broadcasting the game on the internet.  So there we sat, snuggled in bed under the cozy blankets watching Boise win the game 44-33.  They are undefeated this year, again.  They one more game against New Mexico State next week and then we find out if they get the bowl game they want.  I believe it’s the Fiesta Bowl again.  Anyone remember the amazing game in 2007 when they beat Oklahoma in overtime 43-42?  That was an amazing, nail-biting game.

So that was my Black Friday.  Today I’m running and hanging out with the kids.  T is brewing some Christmas beer this afternoon.  I’m going to enjoy the rest of the weekend and continue to be thankful for what I have in my life.  Family, friends, health, jobs, a roof over our heads, and food in the fridge.

One response to this post.

  1. I don’t even watch football and I remember that game! 🙂 I’m excited to find out about the bowl game this year, too, but for very different reasons. My fill-in help at work has a hubby that works as a trainer with the team. I don’t get to reschedule my flight to see my family til I know when they’re going to be gone for the game! 🙂

Leave a Reply

