This week

This week has been a crazy mess of frustration, anxiety, overwhelming fear, sadness, and pure joy.  My girls have driven me to the brink of insanity this week.  I know that T and I are in a stressful place in our lives (not our marriage, FYI) and that when parents are preoccupied, the kids feel it too.  This leads them naturally to be more clingy and needy and overwhelming, which in turn makes me snippy and demand more space.  See the vicious cycle?  I knew this weekend of scrapbooking was just what I needed.  Know what I needed even more than a little time away from the kids?  A hug – which I got and which allowed me to breath for the first time in way too long.  Acknowledgement and a hug.  Such a simplistic thing that can change a mood instantly.  This is precisely what I need to remember with my girls.  Sometimes they just need that hug, to reinforce that they are loved and appreciated and special.  Something so small can have such an impact.  I have a few more hours of scrapbooking to do tomorrow.  I’m looking forward to it, but I’m also looking forward to coming home and spending the evening with my family and some friends for dinner.  But then, even though I will want to get started on my weekend work, I will spend some time focusing my attention on my girls.  I’m going to make that a priority.  My girls deserve that.  Just like I want to be loved and appreciated, they do too.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Yay! 🙂 Everybody needs a little extra love now and then. Glad you’re feeling better!

  2. I hope you get lots more hugs, girl! And keep passing them on to the girls! xoxo

  3. Glad to hear things are looking up!

  4. It’s a good thing for EVERYONE to remember!

Leave a Reply

