Sometimes they make me laugh

SmartyPants has a friend sleeping over tonight.  It was part of her birthday present that was derailed because of the crud that was cruising through our house.  Tonight we made homemade pizzas, the girls played and watched a movie.  Then Sass and Sweet Pea went to bed.  Sass was exhausted from her sleep over last night and being up until midnight and promptly passed out.  Sweet Pea, on the other hand, was excited that there was somebody new in the house and kept coming out of her room after she had stories and songs and snuggles, etc.  The bedtime routine.  T and I were playing cards.  Does anyone remember the card game speed? I taught it to T tonight and opened a big ol’ can of whoop ass on him.  Between the ages of 5 and 7 my family lived in American Samoa.  At the time very remote and removed from regular life.  We played A LOT of card games.  We learned about a half dozen ways to play solitaire, speed, Uno.  As kids we would play for hours sometimes.  This was back in the day when our TV was black and white and if you were lucky we had reception on the island.  I haven’t lost my touch.  Granted T is a thinker.  He wanted to play poker.  Poker has too many rules for me.  Too much thinking.  Give me a game that goes fast and there isn’t time to think, you just react, and I’m good with it.

Anyway, back to the point of the post.  Sweet Pea came out for about the 10th time with this sad, downcast look on her face.  She had pulled the fin part of the Ariel costume for her Build-A-Bear over her head and couldn’t get it off.  I look up and she has mermaid fins under her chin, and I just started laughing.  I laughed until I cried.  Man, that felt good.  Then I had to figure out how to pull it off without ripping her ears off!  But mom was successful at freeing my youngest from the wrath of Ariel’s fins.  Unfortunately I was laughing too hard to take a picture.  I wish I had, because that look?  Priceless.

I love my kids.  Even when I want to strangle them, they go and do something hilarious and make me remember why I wanted them around to begin with.

One response to this post.

  1. Sounds like such a lovely evening! 🙂

Leave a Reply

