She’s 9 today.

Today, my baby (SmartyPants) turns 9.  When did this happen?  I remember when I found out I was pregnant.  We didn’t tell everyone right away because I had a miscarriage the previous fall and it was incredibly painful to have to make phone calls and tell everyone the bad news.  We were living in Texas at the time and all of our family was across the country.  So I remember the day I got that positive pregnancy test.  I remember my first appointment with our midwife.  I remember how scared I was that we weren’t going to hear a heartbeat.  I remember her reassurances that if we couldn’t hear it with the Doppler she would send us for an ultrasound just to ease my mind.  Seven months later this little bundle of joy showed up.  She was born at exactly 37 weeks after 3 days of early labor after an external version for being breech.  After about 1-1/2 hours of active labor.  After about 15 minutes of pushing.  (I don’t have any pictures of her at the birth center because I can’t seem to get my scanner to do a decent job of scanning pictures.  She was born 2 years before our first digital camera.)  SmartyPants was so sleepy for the first couple of weeks.  I don’t have many pictures with her eyes open.

021_18A

027_24A(Don’t you just my glasses? And my obligatory new-mom under eye circles?)

017_14AShe was jaundiced for the first month.  I thought the girl might actually have my olive skin tone, but alas it was just bilirubin.

Here are a couple of pictures from when she was about 10 months old.

010_6A

011_7A

And now, she’s all big and grown up and drinking beer (root of course).

SANY4903

6 responses to this post.

  1. Oh, so sweet!! Happy birthday to your “baby”!

  2. Happy Birthday SmartyPants!!! WOW, 9? Awesome! She was such a beautiful little baby! Reminds me of how BJ looked with the blonde hair and blue eyes. She’s beautiful today, too. Looks just like Traveler!!

    Hope she has an amazing day, and I hope you do to!

  3. p.s. BJ drinks a lot of (root) beer, too. Such a lush 🙂

  4. Posted by Your Woman on October 23, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    She has gorgeous eyes!

  5. She’s beautiful. Then. And now. :o)

  6. I can’t believe she’s that old. I swear it was just a year or so ago that she was 4!

Leave a Reply

