Post race letdown

I woke up not feeling energized.  It might have to do with an unbelievably long board meeting last night that had a smidge of drama mixed into.  And not getting home until just after 10 o’clock and then having to work after the long day.  I slept well.  I had no middle of the night visitors in my bed.  (Which was amazing because of the various levels of sick my kids are toting around.)  I ran this morning and it felt horrible.  Maybe I was just meant to run either at sea level or surrounded by hundreds of other people.  I just couldn’t get my groove on while on the treadmill.  I know I probably need to take a break from running for a bit, but I’m scared that if I do, it will be so easy to totally fall out of the groove.  And dammit, I just ran a freakin’ half marathon!  I don’t want to lose that level of strength!  And on top of it the kids have been sick to varying degrees over the last two weeks and it seems they are trying to make up obnoxiousness towards each other from when they didn’t have the energy to fight.  And did I mention that T’s been gone since early Monday morning?  Luckily he will be back tonight.  At least he better be.  And I have to find time to get a few things together for SmartyPants’ birthday Friday.  Holy crap, my first born is going to be 9!

So now that I’ve bitched and moaned, I think I’m going to go fondle my “Run Like A Girl” Tiffany & Co. silver necklace and think about how awesome I felt on Sunday morning.  Did I mention that I ran the whole 13.1?  Yeah, I know, I did mention it.  More than once, but seriously, how cool is that?  I’m not usually this much of a braggart, but I surprised myself.

2 responses to this post.

  1. You need to set yourself a new running goal. After each 5k, I need something else to look forward to!

  2. You should totally brag. Hello? You ran a 1/2 marathon. That totally rocks! ;o)

Leave a Reply

