Have I mentioned…

that I am going to be participating in this little run on Sunday?  Well, not the long version, the half version.  And have I mentioned that in preparation for said run I’ve run/walked almost 260 miles since May?  Holy moly!  I’m so excited to be participating in person.  Nike and the other sponsors have teamed up to create an amazing weekend.  (One of the perks is if you are a Nike+ user, they will have iPod engraving for free!)  I only wish that I could be there tonight, so I could fully enjoy the whole day tomorrow.  But, alas, this trip will be just expensive enough.  Part of my excitement in going to San Fran for the run this year is that at just about EVERY SINGLE MILE of the course there will be entertainment of some sort to keep us motivated and moving.  This fact alone gives me hope that maybe there is a chance for me to run the whole thing.  Also, at mile 12?  Ghiradelli will be giving away chocolate.  I’m all about free chocolate, especially the good stuff.  I am willing to accept that I might have to walk part of it.  Between mile 6 and mile 7 there is almost a 300 foot elevation climb.  Ugh.  I don’t do hills well.  My only hope is that my training at 4700′ above sea level helps me with the hills AT sea level for the race.  (Here’s a link to the map of the course.)

At last year’s Race for the Cure I bought a water bottle snuggie thing that has a hand strap on it but also has pockets for cash/ID and a cell phone pocket.  I really wanted to be able to document this run, not only to show off here, but I wanted to be able to PROVE that I was there and did this.  So I am tucking my phone into that little pocket and will be snapping a few pictures along the way.  I am so excited and nervous at the same time.

T and I are leaving tomorrow morning to head over the mountains to San Francisco.  We are leaving the girls (Sweet Pea is almost better and now SmartyPants is sick) with my parents (my mom is sick) for the 36+ hours we will be gone.  Yeah, for awesome parents!

So look for updates tomorrow evening (yeah for free internet at the hotel!) and again Sunday night after we get home…that is if I can move.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Good luck! This sounds like great fun 🙂

  2. Great idea! 🙂

  3. I’m thinking of you, hooker!! I know you’re in the midst of run your run now and I hope it’s amazingly wonderful!! I would totally run 12 miles for free chocolate, too, but I don’t know if I’d be able to carry on after that!!!

    Can’t wait to see pictures and hear all about it! I’m so proud of you!!!!!

  4. I can’t wait to hear all about it! I am so proud of you!!

    LOVE YA!

  5. You are so AWESOME. Take as many pictures as you can, I cannot wait to hear all about it.

    Can you bring home some chocolate for me?

  6. Thinking of you today! How amazing. Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  7. Yay! Congrats to you! By now you’ve finished, high five from the East coast!!!!

Leave a Reply

