You Capture – Red (pink)

Photobucket

This week’s challenge was to capture “Red”.  So, first I will give you some of my favorite red things.

SANY4997I’d feel lost without it.

SANY5011I love me some home-grown spicy chile peppers!

SANY5014And, I have three girls.  Ribbons and bows are just part of my life. (SmartyPants told me I had to take a picture of her bow!)

And now for a little creative license with the “red” idea.  This past Sunday was our local chapter of Komen’s Race for the Cure.  It was a cold morning, as you will see from the pictures.  So these have some red and some pink.  My mom is an almost 7-year survivor and we walk in her honor every year.

SANY4993

Our team sign.

SANY4990Here she is!!  My mom in pink and red.

SANY4991 SANY4996

SANY4988

The girls bundled in about 5 layers.  It was only about 30 degrees when we got there and maybe 45 in the sun by the time we left.  I was hoping for more fall before winter kicked in.  Luckily I think fall is supposed to show back up for a couple of days.

SANY4995This last picture is most of our team. (We were a team of 15.)  There were a couple people who just did the run, and a couple more that we lost in the chaos of starting the walk.

So what did you capture this week?

22 responses to this post.

  1. Great shots!

    My Mom is a survivor as well. That said, pink is just red with white in it as someone else posted on their theme this week. 😉

  2. My mom is a survivor too! Good capture!

  3. Great captures of RED!

  4. Great captures!

  5. Great captures! I want to say “congratulations” to your mom on being a survivor – though I’m not sure that’s precisely the word I want to use. But I know someone in my life (afflicted with a different disease) and they are not a survivor. While they are still alive, they do nothing in their power to ensure that. So there is a very very important difference between victims and survivors – and taking power into your own hands to help yourself heal. And it is amazing and powerful that your mom chose to be a survivor.
    Best wishes to you and your family.

  6. Posted by mommy boo of two on October 8, 2009 at 8:15 am

    Great captures! It looks like the walk was very successful. That’s great you participated 🙂

  7. Great red captures… Loving the red blackberry. =)

  8. awesome captures, love all the red/pink~!!!!

  9. Great shots for a great cause! Love the blackberry one…I thought of that too but none turned out.

  10. Great captures! Prayers for your mom and all those who have cancer. 🙂 She looks stunning… I love the smiles of the survivors!

  11. I love how you Capture your RED in a such wonderful RUN!
    Great Captures!
    Here is my RED” <–Hope u like =)

  12. I love chile peppers too. Love the photo!

  13. Love to your mamma!

  14. Great job capturing RED!

  15. Beautiful shots!

  16. A great celebration of red in all its tints and shades–AND of your mother. I am so glad she’s able to share in the fun with you and your family. Super twist on the challenge, especially for October. Thanks for stopping by to see red with me over at my place today. Thanks also for the linky love below–I missed that earlier in the week 🙂

  17. These are great! I especially like the chili pepper. And the pics from the race – so wonderful to see your mother in her pink and red! 😀

  18. Your mom looks lovely in pink AND red…what a beautiful life to celebrate!!

  19. Yay for your mom! Go pink, go red!

  20. Posted by crnnoel on October 9, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    I love all those shots! Great ways to capture the color 🙂

  21. Good for you for adding some pink into the capture! Loving the shots and the message!

Leave a Reply

