You Capture – Something New

This week’s challenge from Beth was to take pictures of something you have never taken a picture of before.  Mmm, I guess that means I can’t take pictures of my kids.  So, I set off in search of things I had never captured before.  Luckily we were out and about this last weekend and I think I captured some good ones.

This first one was of SmartyPants.  Yes I have taken her picture on the dirt bike before, but I had never done it like this.  I had hopped back into the truck to get my camera, but I didn’t want to open the door while she driving past and scare her or have her run into the truck, so I waited.  I really like how it turned out.

SANY4694

We were down by the river for the dirt bike riding and there was a lot of trash around.  I’ve never taken pictures of trash before, so I did.

SANY4699

Here is a picture of the river with the overpass.  I use the term “river” loosely.  I live in Nevada.  It is the end of summer.  The water level is a little bit low this time of year.

SANY4714

And in the river we saw a ton of these:

SANY4745

I had never taken a picture of a tadpole before.  They were pretty fat little guys.  Even with the river so low, there was still enough depth and movement to keep these guys happy.  We also saw a little school of baby trout (according to Traveler. The way I categorize fish is alive, dead, or at the grocery store) that were about 5 inches long.  But they were too far away for me to get a picture of them.

The girls had a good time riding the dirt bike and exploring down at the river.  A perfect way to spend Labor Day.

So what did you capture this week?

17 responses to this post.

  1. Great photos – love the tadpole!

  2. I love the shot of Smarty Pants on her dirt bike!! How awesome and fun!!

    The tadpole is SO cool. Definitely my favorite. He is a fat little sucker. Or maybe she’s a hooker. Hmmmm.

  3. These are truly great shots! love them…

  4. love the rear-view mirror and tadpole. great shots! 🙂

  5. Love all of our shots. The rear-view mirror was very clever. =)

  6. The rear view mirror shot is awesome. With that dirt, it almost looks like you are looking through a black frame instead of a reflection. Very cool!

  7. Great shots! The tadpole is really cool!

  8. Posted by mrssoup on September 10, 2009 at 9:47 am

    Tadpole is adorable!

    And I love the trash photo too.

  9. Great photos!

    I LOVE me some rear-view mirror shots 🙂

  10. Great job… love the one from the side view mirror!

  11. To answer your question about the tattoo hurting… just a bit. I DID NOT have her go all the way around my toe!! Really it was not to bad. It has not faded in 11 years!! God, I’m old!!!

  12. Nice shots. I like the mirror one and I really like the layered look of your river and overpass image. Groovy- reminds me of wood grain. -Don’t worry, I know I’m odd.-

  13. I like the one of the broken bottle. Thanks for sharing!

  14. Great shots, the mirror turned out terrific!!

  15. These are all really cool! I love the mirror shot, and that broken bottle. Nicely done!

  16. Love the rearview mirror picture and the tadpole. Great captures.

  17. love that tadpole shot.

Leave a Reply

