9-11

Just a short acknowledgement.  Eight years ago I was sitting in a hotel room in Boise, Idaho – my first trip there – to go house hunting.  Traveler had gone out for an early morning run before we were to meet with our realtor.  I had just been woken up by a 10-month-old SmartyPants who took her first multiple steps in that hotel room and had turned the TV on just in time to see smoke pouring from the twin towers.  Minutes later Traveler got back to the room and I told him he might want to call his supervisor back on base in Texas.  Shortly thereafter I saw the first tower collapse…and shivers went through my body.  I couldn’t believe what I was seeing.  It was a surreal day.  And to think I’m going to be on my way up to Boise tomorrow.  It also happens to be my brother’s 35th birthday.  (Happy birthday, bro!)

I will never forget those we lost that day.  I will never forget to appreciate our military who continue to fight the fight that was initiated that day.  I won’t go into politics today, but our soldiers, airmen, and marines on the ground in the “sandbox” deserve our thoughts today as well as those whose lives were directly impacted by the attacks in New York City, the Pentagon, and that lonely field in Pennsylvania.

Don’t forget those we have lost since that day and those that will unfortunately be lost in the future.  They deserve to be remembered and acknowledged too.

Leave a Reply

