Almost Friday

It’s crazy really.  I spend all week thinking, “why can’t it be Friday yet?” and I am just about an hour and a half away from Friday and I can’t believe it’s almost Friday.  Friday is a run day in my world.  I’m thinking about trying to get up early and do it before I drop Sweet Pea off at preschool.  Did I mention that my baby started preschool this week? No? Hmm. Must be because I’m part slacker and part woman-without-her-Mac.  (I’m hoping it’s ready for pickup on Tuesday!)

But anyway, my baby.  She’s going to be 4 before I know it and she is off to preschool three days a week.  Can I tell you how incredibly quiet it is around my house without her constant chatter (which I love until she gets bossy with her sisters and they get bossy back)?  The older two kind of enjoy not having someone with the attention span of a fly and the listening powers of an earthworm interrupting their thought processes while trying to accomplish their school work.  But I miss that cute little face for those 3 hours 3 days a week.  But those hours are good for her…and me.  I can facilitate learning in the other two because they have the capacity for reason (within reason for their ages), but the preschool set.  Well, to be honest with you, I’m not fun enough or perky enough to keep my 3yo engaged in fun, learning-type activities.  I’ll hand her over willingly to a person who LOVES to do those things and take her back when she can sit still for more than 2 minutes at a time.

And speaking of my darling Sweet Pea.  When I told her that she couldn’t wear one of her pretty dresses to play outside in (yes, I’m mean – the kid needs a couple articles of clothing without stains and tears in them), she looked me straight in the eye with her screechy little voice and firmly and harshly said, “I wish you weren’t my mommy!”  This actually hurt my heart more than when SmartyPants told me she hated me.  My 3yo…said she wished she had a different mommy.  Ouch.  But then her little 3yo attention span kicked in and 2 minutes later she was asking me to pick her up for a hug and to help her put her shoes on so she could go outside and play.  Gotta love the split personality tendencies of the girls in this house.  (And for T, when you read this, yes I know I am “one of the girls” too.  Can’t deny that I have moody bitch tendencies.)

And other news in the life of Sweet Pea.  She has new glasses.  I will get a good picture of them.  They are too cute.  They are dark red.  Why, you ask, did she need a new pair of glasses?  Well, her shiny blue “blasses” (I sure am going to miss her mispronouncing every consonant blend at the beginning of a word as “bl”) have a weak spot on the frame, and it snapped Saturday afternoon and we couldn’t find the lens to take them back to Costco and say “FIX IT”.  So we had to go to a one-hour place and play WAY TOO MUCH money and have a new pair made.  So now we have a back up.  I swear this kid.  She’s costing me money – glasses, fixing my laptop.  But I suppose one of the three kids needed to be expensive.  So far the other two have been pretty inexpensive, as kids go anyway.

And now I’m knocking on wood because I think I just cursed myself and I’ll probably end up in the ER this weekend with a broken child from taking the training wheels off the dirt bike.

Oh, wonderful.  And what was I saying about the weekend being just around the corner?  Crap.

One response to this post.

  1. Last week I was hoping it was Friday on Monday.

    I have a giveaway at theprovidentwoman.com click on the giveaway in the far right side bar – ends Friday at 10 pm

Leave a Reply

