What I Learned This Week

Update:  Apple deemed the MacBook fixable to the tune of $1240.  Ugh.  They gave a recommendation for an independent authorized Mac-fixer, so I trudged over to their place…and they will fix it for $500.  I guess this is a good thing.  I really don’t have the $500 to spend on the computer, but what’s the use of having a laptop if I can’t use it?  So I will hopefully have it back and not sticky by Tuesday.

what-i-learned-this-week2

I haven’t participated in Jo-Lynne’s carnival in a while.  I guess I haven’t been feeling the “learning” love.  I think I’ve been preparing for the girls and I to get back to the craziness of school and haven’t really wanted to exert a whole lot of thinking above and beyond what was necessary.

But today?  Well today, has me learning a VERY.IMPORTANT.LESSON.

After pouring my second cup of coffee this morning, I sat down at my beautiful laptop to listen to some new kids tunes I was thinking of downloading from iTunes when my lovely, sweet 3yo, Sweet Pea, decided she was going to point at something on the screen…knocking over said FULL cup of hot coffee right onto the top of the keyboard.  Believe it or not I did not swear – out loud.  Immediately picking up the Mac by the corner of the screen and dumping coffee all over my floor and table and not caring, because OMFG THERE IS A CUP OF COFFEE ON MY KEYBOARD!!!!  Sweet Pea then starts talking to me like nothing happened.  I, needless to say, yelled at her to go away and not to talk to me.  My laptop is now without it’s back/bottom on and drying.  It has been q-tipped, papertoweled around the edges of all the keys, blown dry with the hair dryer.  I am praying that it still works tomorrow when I put it all back together and press the power button.

So, my learning for my this week lifetime?  NEVER PUT A CUP OF LIQUID BETWEEN YOUR COMPUTER AND YOUR CHILD. EVER.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Ouch that sucks.

  2. Oh no! I spilled a coke on my mac last year -I had to replace the keyboard (it was an ibookG4) but it worked fine after.

    I recently got a new macbook and appreciate the reminder. I just moved my coke to a different table 🙂

  3. OH. MY. GAWSH. My heart just sunk to my toes. Let me know if it works!!!!!! I can’t stand it.

Leave a Reply

