Before and after

I’ve mentioned before how “retro” our house was when we bought it.  I posted different pictures here.  We have spent our evenings before the girls’ bedtime tearing up this wonderful carpet and laying a cherry colored laminate floor.  (The beautiful matching royal blue flocked wallpaper left within the month after moving in.) Saturday was a long day of floor installation and furniture moving.

IMG_4285

Here’s the after from a slightly different perspective.

SANY4493

And then there is my office/school room.  Here’s the view from the day we moved in.

IMG_4281

And the after.

SANY4501

I (with the assistance of my dad) took down the paneling back in March and painted the whole room.  A coat of paint can make such a huge difference.

Our house is slowly changing and being transformed from something decorated in the late 60s/early 70s to something not quite so bold.  I’m a more subtle person.  I love this floor. I may not be saying that when I get to look at the smudges and streaks and dust that will chronically coat it, but it is 100% better than the blue carpet.  Hopefully one day I can get the new kitchen I want.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Nice! Now wanna come do my house?

  2. Ouch. That blue carpet actually hurts my eyes. How

    WOW. What a difference the new floors make. I think I’d be lying down licking the new floors for at least a week.

    Way to go!!!

  3. Posted by Mary at Musingsofthesixties on August 17, 2009 at 9:44 am

    The new floors are beautiful and even if there is dust at least it’s not hidden deep in a royal blue carpet. What a difference you’ve made in your house! Very impressive.

  4. Yeah! LOVE it! Our new bedroom floor is pretty awesome too. I’ll have to take a pic for my blog. Can’t wait to do the living room. No, our carpet was not as bad as yours, but I hate carpet – can’t wait til it’s all gone!

Leave a Reply

