The Latest Challenge

21 Days with the Sisterhood!

I’ve been having motivation difficulties lately.  And I’ve been eating really poorly.  Tonight? (Tuesday) For dinner, know what I had?  I piece of french bread with peanut butter on it.  And the reason I had that for dinner was because I was full from drinking a 20-ounce Coke (which didn’t taste fantastic enough for the 240 calories) and eating Triscuits.  I’ve been craving salt lately.  I know why.  I’m not drinking enough water and not replenishing enough electrolytes after my runs.  I am also going through a phase of food not sounding good.  If things don’t sound good I don’t want to eat.  You’d think this would be a good thing, but it’s not.  I’m hungry and food sounds gross, so I don’t make the dinner I should.  Which then leaves me not satisfied with whatever I end up consuming.

The good news?  I’ve been running much better.  I haven’t been enjoying it, but I’m making myself do it.  I even did an extra run on Sunday.  So I’m proud of that.

I think I’m going to try the challenge of upping my water intake.  I know I don’t drink enough water.  Coffee? Yes.  Margaritas? Yes.  Water, not so much.

I’m heading out of town Friday to Snowbird, UT for my birthday (I’m turning 22. No. Really.)  I get to spend it with Traveler, who is there all week.  I’m looking forward to going on a long hike Saturday.  I’d also like to try and get my Friday run in sometime after I show up that afternoon.  (I ran 52 miles in July!)

Disclaimer:  I have to admit that when I say I “ran” so many miles.  I mean I was on the treadmill for that many miles.  I always do a 1/4 mile warm up and 1/4 mile cool down.  Some days I’ve even done some intervals because of side cramps that I can’t run through, so I’d take a break for 1/4 mile and then run again.  But I figure if I’m burning between 350-500 calories on the treadmill, even if I’m not running the whole thing, it’s still damn good.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Water is a great goal, and you will feel so much better too!!

  2. Oh those damn margaritas. They’re the devil for sure 😉 I’m so proud of all the running you’re doing! That’s an insane amount of calorie burning, girl!!!

    I’ve totally slacking on my water, too, and now I realize that’s why I’ve been craving salty snacks as well. My scale was total hooker this morning and said I’d gained something like 5 pounds (no lie), so I’m hitting the bottle hard from now on. The water bottle, that is!

    Have a fantastic time on your trip!

  3. I hear ya on the coffee and margaritas!!

    Snowbird?! That’s in the Wasatch mtns right by SLC, right?? I think I learned to ski there when I lived in Salt Lake! Have a great time! And HAPPY, HAPPY birthday!

    xoxo

  4. I’m proud of you, too, on the running front! So often it’s all about not feeling like doing something and doing it anyway. An 52 miles in July?!? Awesome!

Leave a Reply

