You Capture – Photographer’s Choice


Photobucket

I missed last week’s You Capture hosted by Beth over at Folding Laundry.  I meant to do something for the theme of “summertime”, but instead I spent most of last week either in Washington D.C. playing (mostly in rain or overcast skies, so it didn’t really FEEL like summertime to me – check out my pictures from that trip here and here).  But this week’s challenge was our choice.  I love nature.  I love trying to capture the 3D look of reality with what turns out on the camera. I have usually failed in the past, but since Beth started You Capture I have tried new and exciting things with my camera and found that I just have to play and take lots of pictures and some of them will be what I’m looking for.

On Sunday I was fully recovered from my trip and we only had a gaping hole in our living room wall instead of broken pipes and no running water, so after church we headed out to a local nursery that has the reputation of being really expensive.  Well, we found out why.  They have 5 acres…of nursery… right in the middle of town.  Rows and rows of trees and shrubs and plants and flowers – some native to the region and some requiring significantly more water.  And fountains and yard ornaments and Oh My!  I’ve taken to traveling everywhere with my camera in my purse, because you just never know.  Unfortunately when I do eventually get my dream camera (Nikon D60 for those of you who care), I don’t think it will fit in my purse.  Well, the kind of purse I like to carry anyway.  So, wait.  What was I talking about?  Oh, yeah. The nursery.  I get side tracked sometimes and head off on tangents.  Forgive me.

I started snapping some pictures and here are my favorites.

(Please note, I do not have a green thumb, so I didn’t bother to find out what all these different plants and flowers are.  I just ooh and ahh over them.  I don’t need to know their names.)

SANY3654

SANY3639

SANY3646

SANY3643

The next two were also taken at the nursery, and I love the sweetness they show along with they are almost identical in nature but taken separately at different times in different areas.

SANY3630

SANY3631

And one last one, just because Sass was in a mood during this trip and it shows so completely in her expression.

SANY3632

I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone else chose as their “choice” this week.

27 responses to this post.

  1. The flowers are so vibrant. And got to love the hand holding…sweet!

  2. You did such a great job. The flowers are so beautiful, the colors are incredibly vivid.

    And hooray for the D60. Love that camera!

  3. I love these!! The flowers are amazing and the girls are so sweet!!

  4. I’ve considered carrying a bigger purse just to FIT a D60 in– I’m sure you’ll figure something out. 🙂

    Great capturing!

  5. Yeah, the D60 will not fit in your purse. I still carry mine everywhere though!! All the time.

    I love your captures. The flowers are so beautiful. I know the first one is a day lily and the third is a pansy.

    Your girls are adorable. Even with attitude!

    Great captures this week. Keep snapping away, girl.

  6. Great photos this week, I love the shots of your family holding hands.

  7. Wait, isn’t #3 a petunia??

  8. I love the flowers. They are just beautiful. I really love the walking away shots. They are some of my favorites.

  9. the colors of those flowers are amazing! and i love the holding hands shots!

  10. These are all great! That leaf shot is awesome!

  11. Beautiful shots….LOVE the flowers and leaves! Xx

  12. The one of the girls holding hands is precious. You should have that one blown up and hung on your wall. I have one of my two oldest holding hands and it has become more meaningful to me as the years go by. I love how photo’s can freeze those precious moments.

  13. Love your shots – flowers can be so hard to capture but you have done great! 🙂 I love how You Capture is pushing everyone to improve and try new things.
    I am with you on the D60. I got mine in May and I love it. I don’t know what your timeline is but I read here (http://nikonrumors.com/2009/06/23/d60-replacement-in-early-august.aspx) that the D60 is being discontinued and will be replaced in August. It looks like it is still available at Amazon at least but I am not sure how long that will last…

  14. GREAT JOB! beautiful pictures.

  15. The flowers are gorgeous!

  16. Posted by mrssoup on July 2, 2009 at 9:57 am

    What beautiful shots! The colors are so amazing…

  17. Those leaves are spectacular!

  18. Oooohhh…I really like the red and white striped one! Lovely!

  19. Beautiful flowers and very sweet photos.

  20. Wow-fantastic shots. Such great crisp color!

  21. Great shots! I love the colors in the flowers/plants!

  22. I love it : ) Very pretty pictures. And your children are adorable.

  23. Great shots!

  24. Beautiful photos

  25. Beautiful shots, flowers are some of my favorite subjects.

    (I believe Dean is right and #3 is a petunia, #1 is a day lily called “Foolin’ Me”, one of my favorites in my own flower beds…)

  26. Beautiful captures!!! The colors are so bright!

Leave a Reply

