Checking in this week

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

I’d say I’ve been slacking the past couple of weeks, but if you’ve read about my trip to D.C., you’ll know that I haven’t really been slacking…just insanely busy and then exhaustion from traveling and settling back in at home.

So, in the past two weeks I’ve done a ton of walking (2 full days of walking around D.C. – I’m talking at least 12-14 miles one day and probably 8-10 the other day), finding the hotel treadmill while on vacation, eating a salad at just about every meal while on vacation.  Then, I hit a major milestone last Friday.  I finally reached and surpassed the 500-mile mark.  And in the past year (starting July 2008) I have run just shy of 320 miles.  Can you believe that?

Can I, once again, send a HUGE shout out to the Sisterhood.  There are times when I would have given up if I didn’t feel accountable to come here and be honest about what I did or did not accomplish.  Consistency has been the key.  I have held firm since last August.  I have run/walked approximately 3 times a week for at least 3 miles.  I started out walking.  I had a bad case of chronic vertigo last summer and I was scared to get back on the treadmill with crazy balance, but eventually my medication took effect and I started running again.  I have this half-marathon coming up in October, and I have to admit I’m a little scared.  I don’t feel like I can really push myself yet.  My mental game still isn’t engaged, but I’m committed to completing it.  I’d like to even run it all.  Only time will tell.  I know I need to kick it into gear, though, this summer, before school starts back in August.  My time will be that much more precious and fitting in a good 1+ hour to dedicate to running 4-5 times a week is going to be tough, but I know I can do it.

My advice to anyone trying to motivate themselves to reach some goal is to ignore that little voice that screams at you sometimes.  The one that says “ah, what’s another cookie” or “I’m tired and just don’t want to exercise.”  More often than not, I can convince myself to NOT exercise.  There is always something I could or should be doing rather than taking the time for myself and my health.  But I have scheduled it into my life and don’t let myself out of that schedule. (My husband has done the same thing. He has scheduled himself for a 2-hour lunch so he can go to the gym.)  If for no other reason than to give my girls a good example of commitment, perseverance, healthy goals, and that exercise is a good thing.

Find what motivates you and put it on a sticky note or on your wallpaper on your computer or phone – then you will look at it all the time and that can help drive you forward to where you want to be.  All the things that have been said about diets are true.  You can’t go on a diet, you have to change your lifestyle to incorporate health into it.

5 responses to this post.

  1. a half marathon – wow that’s a great goal.

    i haven’t kept track of my mileage, but i’d like to start now – thanks for the idea!!

  2. I love this post.

  3. Love this post. I couldn’t have said it better myself! You’re my hero for the day!!

  4. Ahhh, just the kick in the pants I needed today! (too bad I didn’t come by a little sooner ~ maybe coulda saved myself from some VERY unnecessary snacking this evening!!) You’re doing so well!! Keep up the awesome work and attitude!

  5. I’m learning to tune out that voice, too. I’ve been getting up at 5AM on the days I go into work (Tues-Thurs) to shred before work. So many mornings that voice starts the second I wake up…”You could just snooze once”…”So warm and comfy, why go get sweaty?”…and on and on. But I’ve been fighting it – I’ve decided it’s not a choice, it’s just something that I do.

    I’m so proud of you for hitting the 500 mile mark!

    You inspired me to total up my miles on the bike – I’ve done 140 miles on the bike this year so far!! Maybe I’ll hit 300 for the summer?? Will have to push the next couple months.

Leave a Reply

