Finally – The Trip in Pictures

SANY3133The Rocky Mountains from the air.

SANY3141Capitol Building at night.

SANY3154The view from the east end of the WII Memorial with the Lincoln Memorial in the background.

SANY3425The White House with lights on.

SANY3187The White House after lights out – using my “night landscape” setting.  Love this picture; it was such a surprise.

SANY3202National Law Enforcement Memorial

SANY3212National Building Museum

SANY3223The pillars from inside the National Building Museum.

SANY3242Outside the Newseum – I took this picture of the newspaper from American Samoa.  I lived in American Samoa for two years when I was a kid.  What struck me was that they had this newspaper but not one from Nevada.

SANY3262The Capitol Building on a rainy day.

SANY3273Supreme Court of the United States

(with obligatory protestors out front)

SANY3292Library of Congress

SANY3294Folger Shakespeare Library

SANY3304One of the carvings on the side of the library depicting a scene from a Midsummer Night’s Dream.

SANY3338In the Ocean Hall of the Museum of Natural History.

SANY3333One of my favorites from the Ocean Hall.

SANY3341The foyer of the Museum of Natural History.

SANY3367“Thanks For the Memories” -Museum of American History

SANY3395The outside of the J. Edgar Hoover FBI Building

SANY3430Thomas Jefferson Memorial

SANY3440Self-explanatory.

SANY3456SANY3473SANY3481The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier

SANY3488SANY3490

SANY3495Monument to the “Old Guard” who protects the Tomb.

SANY3525The Capitol Building as seen from our yacht.

SANY3530

One of the pictures from our boat.

SANY3539

The sun setting. Love the golden glow through the trees in the top left.

SANY3574This was taken in front of the Mandarin Oriental Hotel.  If you look closely between the trees you can see the Capitol Building.

I have one more picture from Arlington that I want to share, but for some reason it won’t change orientation, and I refuse to post it like that.

This trip was jam-packed.  It took me two days to recover.  And I’d do it all over again if given the chance.

7 responses to this post.

  1. My favs are the airplane pic and the pillars in the building museum. Cool shots.

  2. Those are amazing pictures!

  3. Awesome photos! Looks like an amazing journey!

  4. Beautiful, BEAUTIFUL pictures!!!! Thanks for the tour! Looks like a wonderful place to visit.

  5. […] so it didn’t really FEEL like summertime to me – check out my pictures from that trip here and here).  But this week’s challenge was our choice.  I love nature.  I love trying to […]

  6. Great photos, thanks for the trip. I also love taking pics from the plan and I really like the FBI building and the pillars inside the museum. Very cool!

  7. […]  May brought her younger sister out for week of fun.  It had me spending a fun-filled weekend in D.C. with friends/colleagues and attending a conference with them.  It had me preparing to run a half […]

Leave a Reply

