Washington D.C. recap

This last week has been full of exercise and good food.  I did my run last Wednesday like a good girl who’s training for a half-marathon.  I didn’t end up doing a run on Thursday like I originally planned, but I think I more than made up for it between Friday through Monday.  We flew in Friday evening to BWI and finally got to our hotel in D.C. about 7 pm.  After a fantastic dinner of crab cakes and salad, we decided to go for a walk when we realized that the National Mall was less than a mile away. this was my first experience of seeing the monuments at night.  When I get home, I will upload pictures because it was awesome.  We walked from the Capitol Building all the way down to the Lincoln Memorial (seeing the Viet Nam Memorial and WWII Memorial), which in and of itself is 2 miles, and then back up to the White House.  So after being on the plane all day we ended up walking about 5 miles or so.  We crawled into bed about midnight exhausted.  Saturday we were up and out by 9:30 am and walked literally all over town.  We saw the National Building Museum (which we had to go in just because, really? A museum about buildings?), National Law Enforcement Memorial, Capitol Building, Supreme Court, Folger Shakespeare Library, Smithonian Museum of Natural History and American History, dinner at a restaurant almost all the way back at the hotel, and then all the way back down to the Jefferson Memorial and then finally back to the hotel for bed about 12:30 am.  Sunday was a more low key day.  Although the morning was more emotional.  We took the metro to Arlington National Cemetery and saw the changing of the guard at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier – which always chokes me up.  Then I met up with Barb and Andrew, had lunch, and wandered around Georgetown.  Then I met up with my cousin for dinner and had tapas for the first time.  After dinner we walked back up to her apartment and we hung out for a bit and chatted with her boyfriend.  Monday morning bright and early we had breakfast and headed over to the conference.  The conference was really great. There were some great speakers and some interesting break-out sessions.  Last night our EMO took us out for dinner on a yacht down the Potomac River – with free margaritas.  Then we walked home from the Marina by the Washington Monument, WWII Memorial, Lincoln Memorial, Kennedy Center, and White House.

This morning I got up and went to the gym in the hotel and ran on the treadmill.  I had told myself that I was going to get at least one run in while out of town.  Today was day 2 of the conference and I learned a lot.  There was some useful information that I think I can use as a board member.

So now I’m sitting in a hotel room about 5 minutes from BWI.  Tomorrow I head home and jump back into my regular life.  It will be good to be home and see my girls and T.  Pictures will be inserted by the end of the week.

Leave a Reply

