D.C.

I have been having a great time here in D.C. I have taken almost 300 pictures since I left.  That is a lot for me.  I am planning on doing a post when I get home with pictures.  We have walked all over the city.  I feel fairly confident in my ability to get around this town now.  At least the section north of the mall.  I am exhausted.  Today was the first day of the conference and we Michelle Rhee was one of our keynote speakers.  If you don’t know what Michelle Rhee has done in the last 2 years of being chancellor of the D.C. public school system, you should look it up.  This lady is full of common sense and logic and applies it to her daily work related life.  Arne Duncan, Secretary of Education to President Obama, spoke first.  Between the two speeches I was inspired even more than I already am about the reforming of public education and providing good, quality options to families in schooling their kids.

Tonight we taking a night cruise on the Potomac River that shows you the monuments lit up at night from the water.  Definitely bringing the camera and hope to get more good pictures to share.

And I have to give a shout out to Stacey for the recommendation of Jaleo’s.  My first experience with tapas and it was fantastic.

Leave a Reply

