Shrinking into Summer

So my last week as part of the Shrinking Into Summer Challenge was definitely not my best week.  I think I’m hitting a bit of a wall when it comes to exercising.  I’m not sure if it’s the heat, knowing the heat is coming, burn-out from shredding…  I just don’t know but I haven’t wanted to run for a couple of weeks and I haven’t actually done it since last Wednesday.  I have been making myself shred on my normal run days, so at least I’ve been doing that!

The main thing I have noticed during this challenge was when I committed to shredding.  It really toned my muscles and gave me a lot of strength than I probable ever had.  I put on a T-shirt the other day that was one of my tighter ones that I haven’t worn in a couple of years because I didn’t like to see the little bulge of my muffin top.  I put it on and it felt much looser around my chest and sides.  So I lost some circumference in shredding.

I’m thinking that with May being a crazy month, I might just let myself off the hook for running this month and get back in the game come June…after all I do have a half-marathon in October to train for!  I will keep shredding a few days a week.  I don’t want to lose all the muscles I have built up.

I hope everyone else had a good challenge and have seen results.

5 responses to this post.

  1. glad to see that you’re noticing a difference. its very difficult to shred on run days! maybe you can sign up for mini races (like 5Ks) leading up to your half marathon to get you motivated again.

  2. Great job with shredding!! And yay to the better fitting clothes! That’s excellent!

  3. It’s great to hear that you’re seeing a difference in the way your clothes are fitting. That’s one thing I’ve noticed too and it’s great! My butt doesn’t take up quite as much room in my shorts anymore and that makes me really happy!!

    Keep up with the shredding!! I stopped for 2 weeks and restarted yesterday and it’s almost as bad as the first time. OUCH!

  4. I don’t want to have to kick your butt when I visit, but I will you don’t start trying to get on track with the running! I don’t want to ruin a fun visit by getting all Jillian on your ass. 🙂

    I know what you mean about shredding – with better fitting clothes but losing motivation to do other exercise on the same days. At least you’re getting some exercise in when you’re not running.

  5. I’m with you on the burnout!! Enjoy your month, then get serious for that half! ;o)

Leave a Reply

