Archive for May 19th, 2009

What I Learned This Week

So it’s that time of week where Jo-Lynne asks what we have learned.

There is one main thing I learned this week.   I am no longer intimidated to do things on my own.   Growing up and even through most of my 20’s I didn’t like to try new things on my own.  Put me together with a girlfriend and I had confidence exuding from my pores, but alone – not so much. Or if I did do it, I pretended really well that I had the confidence.

I was brainwashed this past January into trying scrapbooking.  It was a weekend-long marathon scrapbooking event.  One of my good friends let me know about it and reassured me that all I needed to bring were the pictures.  She had everything else.  (Let me tell you, she certainly has a lot of stuff!)  It was a great weekend.  We laughed, we scrapped, we drank margaritas and shared a bottle of wine.  I also realized that if I’m not being interrupted every 5-10 minutes by little people, I can actually pull some creativity out of the far recesses of my mind.  We all happily signed up for the March marathon.  Lather, rinse, repeat.  Lots of fun, no kids, completed pages galore.  So I signed up and paid for this month’s marathon…

and then I realized that no one else in my little group was going to be able to make it.  My heart dropped a little bit.  I had already paid.  I didn’t want to go by myself.  I wanted to be part of my little group.  But after being assured that I could borrow some supplies from my friend, I changed my perspective and decided I was going to have fun anyway.

And you know what? I did.  Was it as much fun sharing that time with my friends? Not as much.  Did I interact and meet new people that I might not have otherwise? Definitely.  The weirdest part was that I didn’t have the knot in my stomach about being in a situation without knowing anyone.  What helped was the fact that I felt fairly confident in my abilities, so I wasn’t trying something new all by myself.

Bottom line…I am at a place in my life where I can go and do things without my “support system” and be just fine.

What did you learn this week?