Another week down

So they tell me we are already at week 7. Can you believe it?  I am still in shock that I completed the 30-day shred in 31 days.  I have to be honest, I am a little burned out.  Proud, but burned out nonetheless.  My eating last weekend was pretty bad.  Traveler and I went out to a fondue dinner to belatedly celebrate our anniversary and his birthday.  We ate way too much and then went over to a friend’s house to celebrate with her for completing her MBA.  There was a ton of food…and can I tell you that even though I was stuffed, bacon-wrapped scallions are FANTASTIC!

Sunday balanced out okay.  The whole family went for a run at the high school track late afternoon.  It was about 80 degrees and very sunny.  I’m used to running on the treadmill in my garage.  The sun beating down on my head wore me out tremendously.  I made it around the track for almost 3 miles.  I must have run a little faster than I normally do on the treadmill because my muscles on the front of my shins still hurt!  And that is after 30 days of shredding.  I need to get a new pair of running shoes.  Mine are plumb worn out.  For dinner on Mother’s Day we had an at-home restaurant-style Mexican dinner.  We had chips and salsa/beans, margaritas, carnitas with all the toppings.  It was quite yummy.

So my plan for the next week until the end of the this challenge (and into the future indefinitely) is to either run or shred 5 days out of the week.  I shredded at level 1 yesterday and I felt like it kicked my ass more so this time than originally.  My personal opinion is that even though I got toned and probably lost a little bit in circumference doing the shred, I lost my endurance because all of the circuits were so short.  I need to get back to my running consistently and tell myself to quit the internal monologue about how hard it is and just do it. But I also don’t want to give up the muscle that I gained from shredding.

I watched The Biggest Loser finale last night, and I have to say that I teared up a few times.  What those contestants have done is amazing…even the ones who didn’t lose a huge amount of weight.  I think the lowest weight loss was 43 pounds.  Which when you have 100+ to go, 43 doesn’t seem like much.  But HOLY COW FORTY-THREE POUNDS is a huge amount of weight.

On a side note, Traveler loves to work out.  He loves to push himself.  This week is ride your bike to work week…and he’s doing it – 7 miles each way.  He is not the trimmest guy around, but he is strong and powerful.  For example on Sunday morning he went for a run and with not a lot of effort ran 5.5 miles.  He said on a few occasions last night that he would love to get to be on The Biggest Loser because of all the support and full-time exercising he could do, but the fact that he might be able to lose maybe 10 pounds – he would never qualify.  Oh, and he also did level 3 shredding with me on my day 30.  For the most part it was a piece of cake to him – BASTARD!  He felt like he got a decent workout though, so that’s something.

5 responses to this post.

  1. i think running is a hard one – its either addictive and wonderful or it sucks.

    i’m committed to run for 4 miles tonight. but my shred dvd is here so now that means i have to do both tonight. tomorrow will be fun 😐

  2. my husband ran the 1/2 marathon with me a few months ago and ran literally ONCE a week. Meanwhile, I trained for, oh, 12 weeks for that. They are lame! It must be nice to just live with a base level of fitness like these husbands seem to! Anyway, great job on the shredding! I wish I could have stuck with it, but I have my own exercise schedule and it got too much to add on. I LOVED this season of the biggest loser! I was completely surprised that Helen won, I thought for sure it would be Mike or Tara. But I loved Helen throughout the whole thing too, so I was proud of her. Although I do think she looks a little too skinny now and could use a slice or two of pizza!

  3. Congrats on completely the Shred. That is a huge accomplishment. I tried it about a year ago and only made it to day 6, but I’m a wimpy exerciser.

    Have a great week!!

  4. Don’t you hate it when something that seems physically excruciating doesn’t seem to phase the men?! Man, that ticks me off!!! Sounds like you’re all getting a lot of activity in around your house and even enjoying some of it together as a family ~ that’s awesome! You are definitely on the right track!!

  5. I was so proud of myself when a couple times on a bike ride Andrew commented on the pace I was keeping (to the effect that it was quite a pace, or something). Usually, though, I know he could go further and faster than I do. But, that doesn’t lessen what we do.

    Yay you for finishing the 30-day shred! I’m on Day 22 – Level 3 wasn’t as bad as I was expecting (bad, yes. quite a workout, definitely. but somehow I’d imagined worse) – and there’s nothing going to stop me from finishing.

Leave a Reply

