Keeping It Real

I Shred with the Sisterhood!

The official end of shredding took place.  I am a few days behind because I started late and I actually took a day off (last Saturday), but only because I had a house full of family, and I wasn’t going to shred with them here.   I am set to hit day 30 on Friday.  I really like how shredding has toned my muscles and given me muscles in places muscles had never been before.  And the fact that I started shredding after my husband left town for a month and came back and was quite impressed with the results  (and yes I’m sure it wasn’t just the fact that he hadn’t seen me in 4+ weeks).  Anyway… the Sisterhood is doing holding another shredding challenge – essentially lather. rinse. repeat.  I don’t think I’m going to jump on board.  My plan, however, is to shred 2-3 days a week while putting in my miles on the treadmill 3 days a week.  I definitely felt different Saturday by not shredding, but the mental state of knowing I had to shred was a little taxing.  That and my Wii Fit has been neglected since I started shredding.  So bottom line, I will continue to shred but not every day.  I want to give my body a chance to really use all that new-found strength on my runs.

One thing I have noticed in the last couple of weeks has been that I’m not as hungry.  I have to eat when I first get up and then knowing I’m going to be exercising around 1 pm, I have an early lunch (usually yogurt with granola) so I don’t make myself sick.  Then after I’m done exercising my appetite is gone.  I have myself a ZipFizz for hydration and usually make myself eat something (sometimes an energy bar, sometimes a stick of string cheese) and then I have a decent size dinner.  If I eat too much at dinner, I feel sick, and I can’t stand the feeling of sitting down at my computer to work in the evening feeling all bloated and overstuffed.  It’s been hard because I know that in order to be healthy and really give myself the right kind of energy, I need to eat well.  So one thing I have been adding to my yogurt is some protein powder.  It sweetens up the plain yogurt a bit and gives me an extra dose of protein that I might otherwise not get.

I have to give kudos to the Sisterhood again, though.  This started back in November and I have been consistently exercising for 6+ months.  Knowing I’m accountable every Wednesday has made it easier to stick with it.

On the mini-challenge of dairy 3-a-day – I succeeded.  But, as I said last week, it wasn’t that hard because I usually get my 3-a-day.

On a personal note, I have never been a what you would call “well-endowed” and after having 3 kids and nursing them all for a year, the girls are not what they used to be.  I really wish there was a magic pill that would make me lose the fat off my thighs instead of my chest.  Anyone know if anything like that?

6 responses to this post.

  1. You are kicking so much butt! I am proud of you!

    Can’t help you with the boob issue, other than saying I am all for a little “help”! ;o)

  2. Posted by Sindhu on May 7, 2009 at 1:45 am

    Happened to wander over here — really like your blog!

  3. Yay you! It’s awesome that Traveler noticed a difference, too.

    I understand on the shredding front – on the one hand, good to make yourself exercise every day, on the other, I don’t feel like doing any different workouts when I’ve already shredded.

    After my 30-days, I’m thinking about continuing shredding on my work-at-work days, and returning to my other workout on other days…or maybe giving myself a choice on other days as long as I get in 3-4 workouts per week.

  4. I understand taking a break from shredding everyday! That is fine! You have an excellent work out routine! Great job!

  5. When you find that magic pill, please let me know! Way to go finishing a month of shredding! I started strong but…

  6. the good part about being small, is that often you find sports bras on sale! 😛

    great work!!

Leave a Reply

