It’s the little things

Life is full of little things that can make or break the day/week/month.  This past month, Traveler has been gone.  We parted ways one Friday morning in the parking lot of the hotel in Sprindale, UT – he headed southeast and we headed northwest.  The girls were meloncholy as was I.  It was fitting to spend 10 hours alone in the car with 3 girls on our way home.

This was the second year in a row that he has been out of town for both his birthday and our anniversary.  But he always makes it special…and I dropped the ball.  I received a sweet card in the mail before our anniversary.  I didn’t get him one at all, but I did get a birthday card and homemade presents from the girls in the mail to him in time for his birthday.

After a long month of little girls sneaking into my bed in the middle of the night because they missed their daddy, he came home last Saturday.  An understatement would be we were happy to see him.  And then Sunday I was exhausted.  It’s like the whole month of being a single mom hit me, and I just wanted to sleep.

So, this week, the lesson I learned was really more of a reinforcement of what I already knew.  I love my husband, and it makes my life exponentially easier when he is in town.

Why don’t you hop over to Musings of a Housewife and see what others have learned this week.

3 responses to this post.

  1. He was gone a whole month? Did he come home to a big “honey do” list? Or are you more kind than that?

  2. I feel for you–when my husband is gone for a few days, I miss him so much and realize what he does around here!

  3. Oh man, I think having the hubby gone is the WORST. I’m sure you just want to crash when he returns. I know I would.

Leave a Reply

