The weekend

This past week was filled to the brim with family and fun, especially for the girls.  Smart Pants was set to make her first communion on Saturday morning, which meant that Traveler was going to miss it.   He was done with his training course Friday morning, but then he had to drive all the way home (about 1600 miles) from Wichita Falls, TX.  My grandma (Granny) had flown in the previous Saturday (see You Capture post below to feel the love).  Then on Tuesday my aunt and uncle (my mom’s brother and his wife) drove in from S. California.  So we had dinner with everyone most nights of last week.  Which meant that I didn’t have to cook most nights (YEAH!!!)  Thursday night Granny spent the night with us and the girls adored having her around a little bit more.  By the time Friday rolled around I was trying to be motivated to clean and organize.  After all, people were coming over for lunch on Saturday after mass, and my piles of crap throughout the house was just not going to cut it.  On top of that my uncle and his boyfriend were coming in Saturday afternoon for the night.

I have three girls who absolutely love having extended family around.  I can’t complain either.  I lovingly refer to their behavior as “mauling”.  My kids maul people they love.  And by maul, I mean climb on them, hug them, snuggle with them, tackle them, and overall just give out lots of love and attention.  Usually whoever they are mauling doesn’t mind.  The girls only maul people who don’t have kids or their kids are older, so they seem to care.

Oh, I totally forgot to mention this.  With everything else going on my dear, sweet puppy (who is 10-1/2) started having accidents.  If you know Grace, you know how unusual this is.  She has not had an accident in the house since she was a puppy and within 2 days she had 4 accidents.  My house was smelling like the dog pound.  This was bad because of the above-mentioned house guests.

The silver lining on this weekend was Traveler getting home Saturday early enough to eat dinner with us and help put the kids to bed.  To top it all off he got up early enough to make a fantastic spread of pancakes, bacon, and eggs.  Oh, how I’ve missed having him around!!

Sunday was not the best day for me.  Nothing in particular happened, but I find that this feeling happens every time Traveler is gone for more than a week.  I’ve been hopped up on enough adrenaline trying to hold everything together and keep things running smoothly, that when he finally does get home, I crash.  I wiped out yesterday.  It didn’t matter that I slept well Saturday night.  All I wanted to do was curl up and sleep…but instead I shredded and felt a little better afterwards.  I slept fantastically last night.  I am looking forward to the next couple of weeks to go by.  Then I will be taking 10 days off from work because my cousin is coming into town.  I can’t wait.  She will take her last final tomorrow to complete her first year of college.  I am so incredibly proud of her!

So my weekend was a little crazy but fun.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Sounds crazy busy!! Glad your hubby is home to help you out! I hope your dog is okay!!

    xoxo

  2. Glad T made it home safe and sound. I’m sure you’re glad to have him back. Hope Grace is better. Poor puppy. I love her to pieces!

Leave a Reply

