Weekly Check-In aka Shredding Sucks

I Shred with the Sisterhood!

So it’s that time of week where I will share with the internets (and the sisters) what kind of exercise I’ve accomplished.  To start the week off, I did both run and shred last Wednesday.  It wasn’t fun, but I did it.  On Friday, which is a normal treadmill day for me, I didn’t make the treadmill.   I had a meeting that lasted significantly longer than I wanted and I didn’t get home in time to do both run and shred, so I opted for shredding.  I shredded all weekend…even though I didn’t want to.  I never keep up with Natalie.  That last ab move on the 3rd circuit of level 2? Well, I’d say it kicked my arse, but really it just made my hips pop painfully, so I didn’t get a whole lot of ab exercise in that last minute.  I focused more on the plank and keeping my abs tight than the actual twisting.  On Monday I didn’t get to shredding earlier enough, so when I finally finished school with the big girls, it was time for lunch and then Sweet Pea’s nap.  I shredded first and then got on the treadmill.  I made it a mile before I had to stop, but I did walk the remaining mile and three-quarters.  (I’m owning that 3/4 of a mile.  It wasn’t 1/2, it was more..and I’m gonna take it!)

Yesterday, after not nearly enough sleep due to nightmares and girls missing their daddy, I got up at 6:30 (this is amazing after being up at least 4 times between midnight and 3:30) and shredded on day 1 of level 3.  I’m really hoping that it was just because I was exhausted, but that was the most horrible thing I’ve done.  I just couldn’t do all the jump moves.  I was barely coming off the ground.  The rock star jumps? I swear my knees barely bent.  Horrible, I tell ya.  I’m hoping day 2  is better.  I am not counting on running after shredding (because I couldn’t pull myself out of bed at 6:30 this morning), but I am definitely going to log a couple of miles on the treadmill.

I have to admit that my legs are feeling smoother.  Does that make sense? I think it is my muscles getting firmer and therefore my thighs don’t feel quite as floppy and jiggly as they used to.  So even though I finally agree that Jillian is the devil, I’m thankful for this shredding business.

I am totally on board for the 3 dairy servings a day.  But does it count that I can do that with my eyes closed.  I always have a big bowel of cereal in the morning and then a big glass of milk with dinner.  That usually satisfies the 3 servings, and usually I’ll have some other kind of dairy throughout the day.  So I guess I really should try harder to get my 5 fruits and veggies a day because that is actually a challenge for me.  *shrug* We’ll see.  I make no promises on that one.

My eating hasn’t been fantastic, but I’ve been trying to have a decent dinner every night.  My heart hasn’t been into cooking.  Luckily my mom’s heart has, and we’ve been eating at my parent’s house on and off over the last week.  And we will probably swap dinners over the course of the next week.  I have the stuff, I’ve just been too scatterbrained/lazy/slug-like to get my chit together and make a salad and prepare that good quality meal I know I need to keep my energy up to exercise like I want to.

So, have you been shredding?  And if not, why?  I hear Tracey has started, and her schedule makes mine look like I sit on the couch and eat Bon Bon’s all day.  Keep the motivation up.  I’ll keep plugging along and see if after all this shredding is done, my running endurance and strength picks up.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Yay you!

    I’ll tell you, I’m vegetarian and I still have trouble getting in my 5-a-day of fruits and veggies. (There are plenty of vegetarian junk food out there, let me tell you.)

    Maybe you and I should do a mini-5-a-day challenge next week?

  2. Okay, so I noticed that the Sisterhood did a 5in5 mini-challenge…I totally missed it. Probably wouldn’t have succeeded anyway. sigh.

Leave a Reply

