Videos

(I updated below to add the link.  Heck, here is it if you don’t want to scroll and find it.)

I have two videos I want to share with you that seem unrelated but really aren’t.

Here’s the first one via MinivanMom.

Here’s the second one via Bouhammer.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

So how are these two related?  The first may be controversial.  Hell, it is controversial, but I’m on the side of those who produced the video.  I don’t feel that “allowing” non-heterosexual people to legally marry will diminish in any way my own heterosexual marriage.  I posted a link when I first started this blog last fall to this lady‘s viewpoint.   It neatly summarizes my feelings.  So the second video is from the mouths of the soldiers who fight and have fought in wars for OUR country.  To protect our FREEDOMS as a country.  I know this country was founded on Christian ideals…but it was also founded on FREEDOM OF RELIGION.  Freedom for people to disagree and still get a long.  Freedom for people to try to have life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.  These warriors are fighting and state that they are willing to give up their life because of the ideals that America as a whole stands for.

I believe that some of the ideals America stands for does not include pigeon-holing certain groups into second-class citizens based on religion, color, country of origin, or who they love.  I was raised to believe in the goodness of people – not just white people, not just educated people, not just Catholic/Christian people, not just heterosexual people – but all people.

One response to this post.

  1. Religious beliefs aside, do we really have a “right” to tell people who they can and cannot marry? Well, with the exception of cousins marrying (because that is just sick and wrong!). 🙂

Leave a Reply

