You Capture – Rustic

Okay, I have to admit I was very intimidated by this assignment from Beth.  Rustic.  Well, I do live in a place where there is lots of history, but the past week has been crazy busy and I just never made it out on a hunt for what I had pictured in my mind for “rustic”.  Then as I started looking at other people’s captured moments, I was visiting Tiaras and Tantrums, and I had inspiration.  I have old, antique-y things in my house.  So, in the middle of working, I stopped to take pictures.

My favorite picture is of an iron that came from Traveler’s mom.  I have no idea where she got it, but it is old and beautiful looking.

sany2344

I

In walking through my house I also found this

radio-flyer

This little Radio Flyer scooter also came from T’s mom.   From what I have been told, my girls are the 3rd generation to ride it.  So, maybe it doesn’t fit into the “rustic” frame of mind, but picture it being ridden around in the dirt in front of a little house in the early 1950s.  (And I love that it is prominently stamped “Made in the USA”.)

So thanks T&T for giving me inspiration to participate this week.  Next week’s challenge is “Letters”.  Wanna play along?

16 responses to this post.

  1. I love the iron. I have one here like it somewhere. Great job.

  2. Love the iron, I have several myself.

    Great captures

  3. Great captures! Now I’m inspired to take my “rustic” pictures. 🙂 Thank you!

  4. I love the iron! Old irons are so neat.

  5. Posted by Mary at Musingsofthesixties on April 16, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    Nice rustic pictures! I like the iron too because it screams rustic but that wagon? I love it the MOST. I like that you captured Made in U.S.A., something we don’t see so prominently displayed anymore and I love that it looks so dated. Very nice!

  6. Posted by Rosina on April 16, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    Wow I just love that iron! Beautiful captures!

  7. Love both! Nice finds.

  8. your flat iron is cool. i have a couple myself somewhere – probably in a closet. i put them away when the kids were little – i could just see them clunking each other with one of the flat irons, or beaning the cat – lol! great rustic stuff!

    i have my “rustic” shots posted, feel free to come on over to The Shadow of the Cross and visit for awhile :O)

  9. you are most welcome – and I LOVE that iron!!!!!

  10. That iron is a thing of of beauty! I have several old irons given to my by my husband’s grandma – true treasures!! The Radio Flyer is awesome, too. The wheels just scream retro!!

    Great job this week!

  11. How cool to have that 3rd generation toy! I don’t think they last that long any more. nice job.

  12. To me, Radio Flyer and Rustic are synonymous. We were definitely on the same wave-length. Terrific captures. I’d love to see the entire trike.

  13. Really cool great shots, love the Radio Flyer!!!

  14. I love the iron! My grandmother has one just like it!! Great job!

  15. these are really good!

  16. Oh I really love that iron!

Leave a Reply

