What I Learned This Week

It’s that time of week again where Jo-Lynne asks everyone what lessons they learned.

This week has been a little crazy.  We were finishing up school work in time for spring break, Easter egg “hunts” (I use the word loosely), Easter family time, and starting home improvement projects.  Let’s see if I can come up with something learned for each of those topics.

1.  My girls can be motivated AND efficient in getting their work done so “mean mom” doesn’t make them do school work over spring break.

2.  Easter egg “hunts” should really be labeled as “run-and-pick-up-as-many-eggs-and-toys-as-you-possibly-can-before-someone-else-gets-the-one-you-had-your-eye-on”.  But they can also be fun when your kids meet new friends and they don’t want the playing time to end.

3. Church on Easter at 7 a.m. makes for a more sane day than a sunrise service that starts at 6 a.m.  Hanging out with family and everyone getting along and just relaxing is really nice.  (Next year maybe Traveler will be home for Easter, so we can enjoy the day together!)

4.  Taking down decades old wood paneling is much easier when you have a demo-happy dad who pops over in the middle of your demo and takes over.  (Which I happily let him do because what he did in about an hour would have taken me a day to complete.)  And giving an 8yo a paint roller versus giving a 3yo a paintbrush yields dramatically different results.  (I am thrilled that, so far, no paint has made it to the carpet, even though Sweet Pea gave it her best shot today!)

So what did you learn this week?

5 responses to this post.

  1. Hi! I LOVE your tagline… that sounds like my future too! And as someone who has also been burdened with wood paneling I can appreciate how awesome it must have been to get help with its removal! Have a great day! 🙂

  2. I love a good renovation. Me and your dad would get along great. Good luck with your project! Thanks for stopping by my blog. If you want to take a look at my next renovation project here you go: http://writer4rent.blogspot.com/2009/04/do-you-hear-that-in-case-you-cant-make.html

  3. You know, I’ve never been to a sunrise Easter service. It sounds lovely. Good luck with your demolition!

  4. Thanks for the advice about the grandma. We deal with the same thing with my mom coming. I only tell them if she is showing up. The problem this time was they knew because grandpa was hunting with their dad.
    I will learn to not expect so much. It sounds like you had an eventful weekend renovating. Good luck with that!

  5. I love our controlled Egg Hunts…everyone gets a color and that is it. It makes things a bit more mellow, but still fun.

Leave a Reply

