OMG, what did I do?

Holy moly, I got an email that said I had been picked in the random drawing to participate in person in the Nike Women’s Marathon in San Francisco in October.  This race benefits the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  Which I have been supporting ever since I heard about little Allie and her amazing family.  My uncle is also in remission from a non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma. 

I entered thinking that there was no way my name would be picked.  I’m actually kind of wondering how many people actually entered and if everyone was picked who entered because they didn’t have the turnout they expected.  When I told Traveler that I had entered the drawing, he threw his name into the hat too.  His name came up and he received an email too. 

So, I’ve never run in an organized race for this long before.  In October 2007 I participated in the Nike+ version of this half-marathon right here in my town on my own path with only me and my iPod and Nike+ stuff.  It was great, I completed my 13.1 miles, synced my iPod, and about 6 weeks later I received my finisher’s shirt and Tiffany & Co. blue key chain.  I was so proud.  Now, well, I’m just nervous…and excited.  I get to spend a weekend in San Francisco with my hubby (and maybe be cheered on by my parents and kids).  But that means that I definitely need to get my mojo going with running and not continue to be the slacker, because I would love to be able to run the whole thing.  So, even though my agenda is quite full today and I could easily NOT run, I know I must.  I must keep it up if I want to finish with my head held high knowing I did my very best.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Wow! You can totally do it! We’ll be here poking at you if you start to slack.

  2. Posted by Jessica on April 3, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    I’m totally impressed!!! One goal of mine in life I’ve yet to accomplish!

  3. YAY!! How exciting! Are you going to do the full or half? I’m proud of you!

  4. Oh, you are CRAZY!!! But I already knew that! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

