Weekly Check-In

This can be my check in for the Sisterhood and a little synopsis of our little mini family vacation.

We headed out Saturday morning for Las Vegas, which is about a 7- to 8-hour drive.  It was much  more pleasant to take a long drive with only two kids in the car.  Since Traveler is heading for Texas from here (Utah), we drove in two cars, and he had one kid with him throughout the whole trip.  So I spent most of Saturday driving.  After we checked into the hotel in Vegas we ate the most delicious Mexican dinner paired with margaritas.  Which was of course covered in cheese.  (How can you go wrong with that?)  After dinner we spent about half an hour at the pool and then cleaned up and went for a walk down the strip in search of dessert.  So, I did get a little bit of exercise in, but I over-rode that with strawberry shortcake at the Cheesecake factory.  Since getting to Utah we have been eating fairly well.  I went to the market and bought cereal and fruit and sandwich fixings so we weren’t constantly eating out.  Monday morning the girls and I got up and went for a hike.  It was probably about a mile or just over it.  Then we had lunch and went for a 2-mile hike in a different area of Zion.  My legs were tired, but I think part of that was due to the slow pace of walking with a 3yo.  Yesterday we drove out to the Pink Coral Sand Dunes about 20 minutes outside of Zion National Park.  We walked up the biggest dune we could find.  So I think walking through sand counts as extra exercise!!  Then came back and picked up T and went out for another hike up into the canyons.  I think we went about 2-1/2 miles for that one.  So I’ve been getting exercise and eating okay, but not my normal.  I was hoping the hotel would have a gym so at least one day I could get on the treadmill, but they don’t.  I suppose since they have free internet, a girl shouldn’t be so picky!

My goal for the next week is to get back on the treadmill in my normal routine and get back on the WiiFit.  I do have to say that my upper body has gotten stronger since doing all the strength training and yoga on the WiiFit.  When Sweet Pea was tired and I would carry her, it wasn’t quite as burdensome as it normally would have been. 

Hope everyone else had a good week!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Sounds like a wonderful trip! It’s such a beautiful area! And enjoy Vegas!!

  2. I love Zions’ national Park! Hope you had a great time there!

  3. I hope you had a great vacation! Good luck reaching your goals this week!

  4. Hope you are having a blast. Love to T and the girls!

  5. How fun! Glad you are enjoying yourself!

Leave a Reply

