What I Learned This Week

(Yes, I realize I said that I would be in a world without the internets, but here – unlike Vegas – it’s free at the hotel…so you will hear from me after all! Aren’t you lucky!)

It’s that time of week again where we are all supposed to have learned something in the past week.  Go on over to Jo-Lynne’s and see what others have learned.   

This week has been pretty interesting. No hubby around for most of it, then mixed in with a 2-truck caravan down to Vegas with kids in tow for a night, and then a half a day drive to Zion National Park in Utah. 

So I have learned that if I am better natured about life and it’s “adventures” (such as long car rides, lack of sleep, sporadic naps, off scheduled eating) then my kids roll with the “adventure” better. 

We went for two hikes Monday.  One was very short, only about a half mile, but the parking lot for the trailhead was already full, so I drove down the road a little ways and we walked the edge of the road for about a half mile until we reached the trailhead.  It was quite cold, only about 35 degrees out, and I’m not going to lie to you…there was complaining, but I didn’t let it get to me.  I didn’t let them ruin the beautiful scenery we were in…and even after they complained most of the way up to the Weeping Rocks due to the cold temperatures, we made it back to the truck, had a snack, and then we went for a 2-mile hike up a different trail.  There was some tripping, falling, and subsequent crying, but I wanted them to make it all the way, so I kept encouraging them.  I think the rogue squirrels and the deer grazing amongst the trees helped their motivation. 

Persistence and good spirits can go a long way when the ratio is 3:1, kid advantage.

3 responses to this post.

  1. “So I have learned that if I am better natured about life and it’s “adventures” (such as long car rides, lack of sleep, sporadic naps, off scheduled eating) then my kids roll with the “adventure” better.”

    This is so true and sometimes I forget this! Thank you for reminding me!

    These are great lessons. 🙂 Thank you for sharing!

  2. SUCH wise advice. They really do pick up on our moods, don’t they? HAVE FUN!!!!

  3. Well done for keeping them going – they will probably have great memories of those trails.

Leave a Reply

