You Capture – Reflections

Last week’s challenge from Beth at Folding Laundry was to capture some reflections.  I had to mull this concept over.  I wanted to find something different than just a mirror, but I wasn’t sure where to find this until last Thursday.  The temperature was fantastic.  I think it hit 70 degrees.  We stopped at McDonald’s on the way home from running errands for an ice cream cone (I use the term loosely as we all should know by now that there is no actual milk products in those things.)  The girls knew my drill.  If it’s warm, you eat ice cream and other meltable products outside.  After they were done eating they were running around playing outside and so I grabbed the camera and followed them around.  Our empty birdhouse in the back yard hanging in a tree caught my eye.  Could I get a reflection off of the cheap plexi-glass?  As I got closer I realized that I could see our red shed in the reflection and I captured this:

reflection-bird-house-mar0

Then, as the girls were climbing trees I glanced up at my filthy windows and saw the girls in the Sweet Pea’s window.  I love how the “dirty window effect” (it’s a new photography term, I swear) makes it look like an old 70s picture.

reflection-running-windowreflection-yard-mar091

Then I wandered to a different window and captured this big oak.

reflection-tree

After I thought I got a couple decent window pictures, I had to come in and start making dinner to feed the hungry masses after their ice cream sugar rush wore off.  I had just bought a new bottle of wine and the bright color caught my eye, so I tried to do something different with the bowl of my Kitchen-Aid mixer.  I call it “Salvation and Utility”.   (tongue firmly planted in cheek)

reflection-dh-wine-close

So that was my week.  I’m looking forward to the next challenge.  How did you do with your reflections?

23 responses to this post.

  1. I love the “dirty window” affect…it almost looks vintage~ GREAT JOB!!!

  2. I love the window reflection and the last picture too! I finally have my pics up now that the baby is up 🙂 lol! You did a great job on the reflections-mine are actually kinda lame in comparison. 🙂

  3. “Dirty Window!” I’ll have to remember that highly technical term, because what a shot! And, I think I will tell my family that I am doing an experiment in photography and will not be washing windows anymore! You really captured some wonderful reflections this week.

    When I Grow Up

  4. Great captures! I really like the one of the kids running away. Of course I like the bottle of wine as well. Very well done!

  5. Those are really neat!!! I love the last one. That is super cool. And I will have to try that “dirty window effect” – I have plenty around here. 🙂

  6. I love the “dirty window technique!” Really, I thought they were old pictures at first. What a fun discovery.

  7. I really like the “dirty window,” it adds a vintage look to the photo. And I’m taking it as an excuse to not wash my windows.;)

  8. The window shots are awesome. Good job!

  9. Those first few are so awesome and vintage-y!

    Steph

  10. I agree about the ‘dirty window effect’, it’s great! And the curvature of the reflection of the wine bottle is wonderful!

  11. Ah, a nice Cab after a day of photography! Great captures! I have the same cheap plexi-glass bird feeder!

  12. Beth would be proud… Using your camera and learning new things…. all of us really…..

    Liking the last picture… well really the wine….

  13. Posted by Mary at Musingsofthesixties on March 27, 2009 at 3:29 am

    Dirty window effects and wine! Nice! But seriously, the one of the girls running is especially poignant.

  14. so creative – love the last one!

  15. Those are great, it’s stupid, but I never even thought of doing a window reflection.

  16. I love the creativity you showed this week, you did a great job! The “seventies effect” shot is awesome. What a good reason to have dirty windows!

  17. I love the creativity you showed this week, you did a great job! The “seventies effect” shot is awesome. What a good reason to have dirty windows!

  18. Very cool “dirty window” effect–it really does look like a vintage photo! You were very creative with all of your shots!

  19. Thanks for stopping by….great captures! Love the wine one…too cute! 😀

  20. Posted by Lindsay on March 27, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    Love the wine bottle pic, great shots!!!

  21. These were great– I never even thought of going this direction.

    The wine bottle has lovely colors.

  22. Very creative! I love the bird feeder reflection and really love the 70’s looking image. How cool if you can find an old family picture that your new image reflects.

  23. Wow! I LOVE the reflection of your girls playing in the window. And the wine bottle on the mixer is awesome too. Great job this week! Thanks for your compliment on my reflection photo!

Leave a Reply

