What I Learned This Week

It’s that time of week that Jo-Lynne over at Musings of a Housewife asks the internets “What I Learned This Week”.

This last week has seemed like a blur.  I’ve been racking my brains trying to come up with something tangible.   The only thing that comes to mind is that I really need to practice letting my kids be kids.  I spend so much time and effort trying to make them responsible and kind to each other that I forget that they need to be able to let their hair down and be crazy.  They get a decent amount of down time every day, but the hint of spring has brought out the spunkiness in them all.  Take last night the three of them were running through the house crazy.  They were wrastling and bouncing into each other and jumping on each other and pillow fighting (what I suppose a typical day with boys would be like) and I let them.  They lasted almost an hour before they had their fill and Sweet Pea ended literally running into a doorway.  Poor thing bent her glasses at angles glasses should not be in.  Luckily I was able to bend them back without breaking them, and the best part is the glasses have never been stayed on her nose so well.

Normally I have a fairly low tolerance for their kid-ness  The screeching usually drives me up a wall.  I would welcome nails on a chalkboard compared to three screeching girls.  But I know I need to let them play and be a little out of control every once in awhile.  It’s good for them to stretch and push these limits with each other, especially since they don’t get to do it at school.

So I guess I didn’t learn anything new, but I will practice what I already know.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Earplugs can be your friend. They don’t cut out all the noise, but definitely tone down the high-pitched squeals that seem to come out of little girls.

    Glad you could get the glasses back into shape!

  2. Sometimes we just need to remind ourselves of what we already know – so true!

  3. Great lesson. My kids are the same age as yours and I need to be reminded to let them just be kids.

  4. Kids will be kids. We just replaced my daughter’s glasses that broke. Ugh. I hope these last longer.

    Have a great week!

  5. I can relate to a having a low tolerance for kid-ness. Good for you, allowing them to let loose! 🙂

  6. I hear you. Sometimes I have to remind myself the same thing: they’re just kids, this behavior is normal.

  7. Oh letting them be kids is so hard sometimes. My 3 year old communicates like a 6 year old and I often have to remind myself (and the rest of my family) that she is ONLY 3 and sometimes we have to let go.

    And the loud “kidness” grates on my nerves…I like to send it outside when I can!

Leave a Reply

