The weekend

I had a fantastic weekend.  I spent it sitting in a cushy chair surrounded my pictures of my family from earlier times, sharing said pictures with my friends, laughing, eating, drinking, and overall feeling the creative juices flow. 

I don’t think of myself as a creative person, but I have found that if I have enough time and am in the right surroundings I can be.  My life is pretty consumed with motherhood.  I used to journal LBK (life before kids).  Nothing fancy, just my thoughts on paper of whatever was going on in my life at the time.  I guess the only difference between journaling and blogging is I never censored myself in my journal.  I was always wrote exactly how I was feeling at the time.  But I found that I couldn’t just sit down and journal when I had a free moment.  I had to do it when the mood hit…and with kids in the house, I didn’t have that luxury. 

In January a friend of mine who has been doing scrapbooking for years (and has quite the collection of doodads and gadgets) invited me along on a weekend scrapbooking marathon: Friday night from 6-12, Saturday 10-10, and Sunday 10-5.  I really didn’t want to at first.  I’m fairly organized with my kids’ pictures.  They are in chronological order in photo albums.  I figured that was good enough.  But, in the name of having a weekend with adult conversation and some “me time”, I went.  I had a blast.  We laughed, we shared, we drank margaritas – how could that be bad.  So when there was another scheduled for March, I jumped at the chance to do it again. 

It is amazing to me what I have accomplished so far.  Some of the pages still need a little bit of embellishment , but overall I think they have turned out pretty good.  I even got one done of when Traveler graduated from his tech school in the Air Force…way back when we were just newlyweds. 

So in May, I am going to go again.  I can’t wait!

One response to this post.

  1. Sounds fun! I have tons of scrapbooking supplies that I have bought over the years, but have yet to scrapbook a page!! Someday…

Leave a Reply

