You Capture – Week 2

This week’s challenge from Beth was to take a picture of something from a different perspective.  That was harder than the last challenge of no flash.  Here’s my first one.

perspective-feb09

This seems a little odd.  I took a picture of my toilet.  It would be odd except that my bathroom had previously been covered in carpet…all the way up to the toilet and the tub.  (The tub is just to the right of the toilet.)  So taking a picture of this beautiful new tile floor is pretty spectacular to me.  But I figured a picture of my toilet and tile floor couldn’t be the only picture I took, so I continued to snap pictures.  Here’s what I came up with next.

perspective-feb092

This is Sass.  We took a day trip to Travis AFB in California last Saturday.  Traveler needed to buy an Air Force mess dress uniform.  He has an upcoming course in April, and the required dress for graduation is the extra fancy uniform.  This was taken in the dressing room at Clothing Sales.  Hence, the glowing light above her head. 

I am looking forward to seeing what everyone else did, and I can’t for the next challenge.

25 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by upstatemomof3 on March 4, 2009 at 9:09 am

    Your new tile looks great. 🙂 And that second picture is very cute. I love doing this because it is like i get a whole new memory of things.

  2. Oh, I think the toilet picture is a great example of perspective! Love all that white, and who really ever sees the bathroom floor and what’s under the “stall” door? And I really like your idea of taking the picture straight up at your girl, especially with the doorframe as context. Interesting and well-done!

  3. Okay, I’m particulary fond of your first capture! I love to see interesting shots from neat perspectives! The new tile is very lovely and your bathroom is super-duper clean! I don’t know if I could have pulled this one off right now!

    The second shot is fabulous! I love how the overhead light is glaring, but not overly so.

    Great captures!

  4. That first one made me laugh. That is definitely a different perspective!

  5. I think the toilet shot is brilliant – not an angle you see very often!

    I love the look on your daughter’s face in the 2nd shot. What’s in the very top right corner? It almost looks like hair.

  6. Posted by livinginagirlsworld on March 4, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Kalli, good eyes! That is my oldest trying to invade in the picture. Thought about cutting it out, but figured I’d leave the original nature of the picture.

  7. those are great…LOVE the toilet one! and Sass is adorable!

  8. Posted by rosellafan (Paula) on March 4, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    these are such creative shots! good job!

  9. Love the pic of Sass. She is too cute!

  10. I think the toilet shot is great! I do love the tile, and it has to be WAY better than carpet in the bathroom 🙂

  11. LOL Fun shots! Great job!

  12. Seriously?! I LOVE both pictures. Toilets make me giggle (yeah, I know it’s kinda teenage boyish, silly). And the angle of the second picture is awesome. Great capture!

  13. Posted by Amy J on March 5, 2009 at 2:32 am

    Nice!

  14. Posted by Mary at Musingsofthesixties on March 5, 2009 at 2:45 am

    So I think I’m starting to catch on that great perspective shots involve great imagination. You surely have one because your pictures are wonderful!

  15. The first shot is great! It is very “artsy” to me, love it! Also love that you have stall doors.

  16. Good job.

  17. I love both the pictures. Very unique perspectives.

  18. CRRRACK me up!!! 😀 Love it……fascinating what people come up with for perspectives, this was a great one! Love your little girl’s face!!

  19. How fun! I love a new floor too!

  20. I actually love the picture of the toilet. Fabulous.

  21. Love the floor! And I never would’ve thought take a picture of a toilet (any toilet) from any angle…great job! 🙂

  22. Is it strange that I thought a picture of the toilet was perfectly normal?

    You did a great job this week, super creative!

  23. beautiful tile and I like the potty picture!

  24. OMG!!! Both are great!!! Those titles are just gorgeous and your daughter too!!!

  25. […] and changed out all the hinges and handles to something less…gold and leafy.  I also posted way back when in the second week of You Capture a picture of my new bathroom floor and toilet.  As you can see […]

Leave a Reply

