The End of a Challenge

Today is the final day of the “Lookin Fine for Valentine” challenge over at the Sisterhood.

This week, well, I haven’t done as well as I would have liked.  Partly my fault, and partly…well my fault.  I snacked more; although, I tried to keep it to healthier stuff.  It’s been hard though because my older girls are selling Girl Scout cookies, and the cookies have arrived.  (I have a love/hate relationship with Thin Mints.)  I’ve realized that as long as I keep the boxes closed and in the freezer, they aren’t tempting, but if the box is open, look out!  I was very proud of myself on Saturday as it was the first day I ran 3 miles straight.  I’ve tried in the last month, and just couldn’t convince myself to muscle through.  But Saturday, I probably could have kept going, but I didn’t want to push myself too hard and regret it.  I did hop on the Wii Fit though and put in 45 minutes there.  It felt wonderful.  It is now Wednesday and I’ve yet to exercise again.  Here’s where I have tried to place blame outside of myself.  We tore out the carpet in our master bathroom (yes, around the tub AND the toilet) oh, I don’t know 3 months ago.  It was definitely before Christmas.  We’ve yet to make the time or have the time get out and buy some tile and get it laid.  So a friend of Traveler’s was interested in making a few extra bucks, so he was at the house all day Monday (one of my regular workout days).  For one, he was using the space in the garage where my treadmill folds down (see, right here, I’m placing blame), but I also don’t like an audience when I work out.  I have always hated gyms.  Traveler loves the gym, but I hate being surrounded by people who may be watching me.  (Yes, I’m insecure.)  So hence, I have a treadmill at home and I bought myself Wii Fit.  Anyway, I didn’t get it done Monday.  And today? Yes, Wednesday is supposed to be one of my days of exercise.  I won’t get it done today either because this morning the girls and I went to church for Ash Wednesday, therefore getting a late start on school work (which was already behind from skiing yesterday).  So we are now just finishing up with that, and I coulddo the Wii (I think I’m convincing myself right now to just shut up and cowgirl up about it.)  (I am only 6 miles away from hitting my 30-mile goal for February; if I run Friday and Saturday, that shouldn’t be a problem at all.)

So the bonus for this next challenge for St. Patrick’s Day (you’ll see the button over there on the right) is that because it is Lent, I’m giving up sweets.  I can’t in good conscious say I’m going to give up coffee – that would be a HUGE sacrifice.  I thought about wine, but I like wine, and in reality I don’t drink more than a couple of glasses a week anyway.  In the past I’ve given up my Coke, but since I’m exercising, they don’t sound as good and I’m not drinking as much.  I think the sweets thing is good.  I’m a sucker for all things sweet.  So no dessert, no cookies, no candy, no cakes.  Nada, until Easter. 

So here’s to a healthy next 3 weeks until St. Patty’s Day.

One response to this post.

  1. Cheers! Let’s do it!

Leave a Reply

