You Capture – week 1

Beth over at Folding Laundry has started something, and because I have taken, literally, a couple of pictures over the last few years where I was amazed at how they turned out, considering I’ve never messed with any photoshop type program and seeing Beth’s pictures along with other’s (like Pioneer Woman) who enjoy taking pictures, has made me want to try and take better pictures myself.  I have a basic point-and-shoot Sanyo camera.  Nothing fancy, but for the most part it does alright.

This week’s challenge was to take a picture of something you love without a flash.  And because I have 3 girls, I thought I’d start with them.  I do love my kids afterall!

I’m partial to my baby, Sweet Pea, who is now 3 and is the proud owner of shiny blue “blasses”.  I posted about them below.  I took these 2 pictures today. 

thoughtful-feb09

downward-glance-feb09

She just makes me want to squeeze her and keep her small.  I do have pictures of Sass and SmartyPants, but since kids usually get a little more “neglected” the further they are in the lineup, I like to put my Sweet Pea out there front and center.  I promise I won’t neglect the middle child either.  She will get her fair share in the billing!

So there you have it, my entry to the challenge.  I’m excited to see what others have done.

Okay, I had to add one more.  Rarely is there a picture taken of Traveler and myself that I like.  We were out to dinner Friday night with our girls and my niece, and I held out my arm and took this one.  I love it.

us-feb09

19 responses to this post.

  1. Oh, your Sweet Pea is so PRECIOUS! What a sweet little girl. I like the tone and mood that the lack of flash allows for in these shots.

  2. She is so cute. Hope to be seeing more of her. Greta job.

  3. I have 2 beseckled little boys. So we know all about ‘blasses’ over here. She’s a cutie!!! =)

  4. Very nice shots!

  5. Great photos! Your daughter is such a cutie.

  6. Posted by Paula Westbrook on February 25, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    beautiful pictures! a beautiful family…..

  7. I called my oldest son Sweet Pea, so I have a soft place in my heart for anyone named Sweet Pea. Your baby is precious with her blue ‘blasses’! Great shots of her.

    And I love self-portraits when they turn out as good as yours did! Nice one!

  8. very nice….good job!

  9. I think that Sweet Pea looks adorably gorgeous with those “blue blasses”! Great pictures!

  10. She is a stinkin’ cutie! Can’t wait to see more from you!

  11. Gotta love those cuties in glasses!!

  12. Great capture. I want to reach out and squeeze her, too. LOL

  13. Those are really nice!! I love that first one of your daughter. Her glasses look like they are sparkling. It is a really nice pic of you and your husband too. Those are so nice to have aren’t they? We alwasy take so many pictures of our kids it is so nice to have a few with our DHs.

  14. Good job! I couldn’t help but notice the the similar look Traveler & Sweet Pea (in the lower photo) are sporting. Darling!

  15. Those are great. I love spontaneous shots like the one you took at the restaurant. Some of the best pics of me and my husband were taken via the “hold your arm out method”…

  16. Love these pictures, they are wonderful! Nicely done! I can’t wait for next week!

  17. Cute!!

    Love the blue blasses. My BB has blue blasses too. ;o)

  18. The girl and her blasses are great!

  19. She is just adorable. There’s just something about kiddos in glasses isn’t there?! 🙂 I love these shots too – that first one is gorgeous in black and white!

Leave a Reply

