What a weekend

This past weekend was quite full, and amazingly I didn’t feel overwhelmed about it all.  Maybe that’s because I had no work this weekend due to a massive snowstorm in Wisconsin. 

Friday I finished baking cookies.  I have never baked cookies to give away as gifts.  The kitchen is not my friend.  If I don’t have to be in there, I don’t want to be in there.  But with all the wonderful cookie recipes I kept seeing on various blogs, I had to give them a shot.  And you know what?  It didn’t take as long as I thought it would.  The best part of making 4 different recipes in one day?  I didn’t have the urge to eat any of the goodies.  I was content to package them up and not think twice about them.  Also on Friday my niece came over for a couple of hours and she helped my 3 girls decorate with frosting and sprinkles. 

Saturday proved to be just as festive.  As part of the challenge from The Sisterhood I decided that since my brother only lives about mile or so from us, we would walk to my niece’s 4th birthday party.  It was cold, so we all bundled up.  Sweet Pea had the pleasure of being pushed in the stroller.  I figured correctly that I’d get a little more cardio by pushing her at my pace rather than walking slow with her.  Fun was had by all at the party.  They painted little ceramic figures.

painting-sass-dec08

painting-smarty-pants

painting-sweet-pea-dec08

Although we had a little excitment on the way home.  Traveler was pushing Sweet Pea and as we had our house within sight, we were racing to see who would get home first.  Traveler hit a bump with the stroller’s front wheels, which catapulted Sweet Pea head first into the street.  I knew I had buckled her in and the buckle on the stroller is pretty difficult to unlatch. so I couldn’t figure out how she fell out.  When we got back to the house, I checked out my 7-year-old umbrella stroller and realized that 2 of the 3 strap connections had snapped!  So needless to say I might be in the market for a new stroller.  That evening we played, literally, for hours Connect Four.  I never really played this game as a kid, but Traveler loved it.  He said he never had one of his own and loved visiting his cousins, so he could play it with them.  Even Sweet Pea got in on the action.

Yesterday was a very full day.  We started off by having a light breakfast and then heading over to my parents to deliver cookies, pictures, and a homemade snowman.  Here is the one that Smarty Pants made. 

snowman-dec081

We ate homemade cinnamon rolls, and the girls got to open their presents.  After that we headed up to Traveler’s dad and step-mom’s place for “brunch” and more presents.  I think the girls are going to be a little disappointed on Christmas when they only have a handful of presents left to open.  Usually they get all of them on Christmas, but they did get some great stuff.  I am not a girly girl, and to have 3 girls has been an adjustment for me over time.  Pink was never a color I purposefully grabbed for, and Sass would love to be in pink head to toe every day.  Since Traveler’s parents know this, they went looking for the “anti-Barbie” game.  I think they found it – “What’s In Ned’s Head   It is really quite gross, but hysterically funny at the same time.  It even gives you blank cards on which to add your own icky contents to Ned’s head.   After that stop we headed to Traveler’s grandparents’ house…were the girls had more snacks and opened more presents.  One of them was a puzzle made out of 12 cubes.  For each of the 6 sides of the cubes, there was a different puzzle.  I love this because it is compact (the box is about the size of a notecard box), and it takes more mental power that just putting the pieces together.  Sweet Pea can even do it with a little help.  Then we headed home for a little R&R. 

I’ve been on the lookout for a good Nevada sunset to share since I posted the pics from Idaho.  And as luck would have it, it has been cloudy and overcast ever since.  Last night on our way to church I took a couple of pictures of the clouds and got a decent one of the sunset.  Unfortunately the best picture would have been while at the stoplight with the sunset behind us.  But I will share what I have.

cloudy evening

Nevada sunset

Our church has a youth mass on Sunday evenings where they liven things up a bit to help keep the kids engaged.  It is more geared towards middle school and high school kids as they have a youth group meeting after mass, but today they were inviting everyone to stay and enjoy a Christmas dinner.  They had a live Christian band (I don’t remember their name) who was playing Christmas songs.  They had a raffle and Sweet Pea won a 3-pack of bubbles – which thrilled her beyond belief.  (And it thrilled me that it was a 3-pack so there is very little room for argument and jealousy.)  We got home at 7:30 just in time for PJ’s and bed.  After the girls were in bed Traveler and I finished wrapping presents and then watched one of our favorite shows – The Unit.

Today we are getting a little bit of school work done and then heading out to run some errands.  I still have to finish packing and cleaning up the house before we leave.  Not sure if we are leaving tomorrow night after I’m done working or early Wednesday morning.  Thankfully the weather is supposed to be clear on both days for our drive to southern California to visit Traveler’s aunt and uncle. 

I will be taking Traveler’s laptop with us, so hopefully I’ll get some festive pictures up while we are out of town.  I will try to give updates on my status for The Sisterhood’s challenge.  (I have to get some exercise done today if I’m going to make it!)

Leave a Reply

