Shrinking Jeans

If you haven’t noticed over there on the side is a button with something about shrinking jeans.  If any of you know me IRL, you are probably thinking, that Kirsten she doesn’t need to shrink her jean size.  True, I’m not overweight, but part of the challenge of this is to get healthier.  I’ve been back on the treadmill more consistently in the last couple of weeks, and it feels good.  I want to continue.  I want to hold myself accountable to others.  Right now my goal is fairly simple – get on the treadmill 3 times a week for at least 3 miles.  That really isn’t that big of a goal, but I like to start small.  If my goals are too lofty, I will usually get discouraged.  When it comes to exercise, though, I need to be fully self-motivated.  Traveler thinks I’m weird because I can’t handle kudos.  It actually discourages me.  I also don’t like the reverse of that, which usually is in the form of “hey, why don’t you go get on the treadmill?” 

So, why did I decide to join a group who wants to encourage each other on getting healthier if I don’t like positive or negative feedback?  I want to be held accountable for getting my butt moving.  Maybe I will be more willing to accept the criticism if it is not coming from my husband. 

So here goes nothing!

3 responses to this post.

  1. We are so glad you are taking the challenge with us at shrinking jeans. Way to want to be healthier!

  2. Posted by livinginagirlsworld on December 4, 2008 at 8:21 am

    CE – thanks for stopping by!

  3. Arg! I hate encouragement, too!!! And I thought I was the only one. It seems like as soon as someone says ‘good job’ I want to stop. I’ve been doing well for the past year keeping my secret, but now I’m outing myself to the sisterhood, so I’m hoping I can keep going. So I’ll say ‘good luck to you’ rather than, ‘you can do it.’

Leave a Reply

