The day after

I was planning on hitting some sales today, but I am not one of those die-hards that has to be there before the 5 a.m. opening of the stores.  That, my friend, is insane.  I treasure sleep too much to worry about saving $10 on something.  But I did head out mid morning with a friend to see what we could find for the few remaining presents that needed to be bought.  Mervyn’s in Nevada is closing it’s doors.  Our local one hasn’t had very good deals yet.  Lots of stuff still $15 and up.  That is not a deal.  I want $5 and under.  That’s a deal to me.  On our way to the mall we saw guys holding up signs about Mervyn’s closing the store sale and everything was supposed to be $5.99 or less, so we decided to stop in.  Everything in the store was $3!  I walked out of there with 2 shirts, 2 jackets, 1 pair of paints, and pair of shoes for under $20.  I also got a great deal on a queen sized down comforter for Sweet Pea; $30.  Yahoo!  We also wandered through Toys ‘R Us but nothing jumped out screaming “BUY ME”, so we left.  Aside from a few other goodies, we were pretty burned out from standing in lines.  It was nice to just get out and enjoy the relative quiet.  (Remember I’m usually doing all my errands with 3 kids in tow, so even the crowds of stores and the mall, it seemed quiet.)  Since Traveler had the kids all day, he’s out this evening brewing beer with a buddy.  Trading time and compromise, the essence of marriage!

Hope everyone is enjoying their time with family or whatever you are doing on this weekend.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I laughed at this because I consider any place that I don’t have drag all three kids with me to be very, very quiet. Glad you had a chance to slip away!

  2. Posted by livinginagirlsworld on December 1, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    Thanks! It was nice for the break. I’m so glad my husband knows how important it is for me to get away sometimes too.

Leave a Reply

