Daily Life

Lately our lives haven’t seemed all that interesting.  The daily life is pretty boring and repetitive making the days kind of run together.  The highlight of my week last week was, of course, Obama winning the election.  That was a pretty big moment.  The highlight of my family life was getting to spend time as a 5-person family.  Traveler was actually not traveling last week.  I think I may have him around consistently through the holidays.  I can’t believe that him being around for the next 6 weeks sounds heavenly.  This year has been long with him gone so much.  I have so much respect for single parents.  To put it mildly, it’s hard and exhausting.  So last week, what with the election and not having internet for a couple of days, we actually spent time together as a family.  I wasn’t racing through dinner so I could jump on the computer so I could be in bed before midnight.  I got sit in the evenings and enjoy being surrounded by my family.  The kids are so much more relaxed when Traveler’s home consistently too. 

Saturday we actually went out on a date…like a real date complete with babysitter and everything.  Usually we mooch off my parents for babysitting, but they were headed off early Sunday for a week in Mexico with my mom’s brother and his wife.  We have friends with a 14-year-old daughter who was very excited to babysit, so we gave her a call.  My kids love her.  She handles them all so well.  This was the first time we have left the kids with someone younger than ourselves.  I was a little shocked that I didn’t feel nervous about it.  I guess the excitment of getting to go out and not feel like I was taking advantage of my parents made it easier.

Still sweethearts

After an evening of hanging out watching a friend play in a band and a couple of drinks, we came home.  Promptly went to bed and ended up being woken up by Sassafrass some time early Sunday morning because she threw up in her bed.  Lovely, huh?  Nothing like a puking child in the middle of the night to bring you back to reality.  Unfortunately a little too much tequila was not compatible with lack of sleep.  Traveler was a champ and got up with her and dealt with the puking child.  Poor thing didn’t start to feel better until about 3 o’clock Sunday afternoon.  By then I was feeling better too!

Normal life stuff, nothing exciting, but I think the election stress wore me out and I’m glad for the boring-ness of my life.

2 responses to this post.

  1. “May you have an interesting life” is an old Chinese (?) curse. I think that sums it up nicely. I’d rather have a boring date-with-my-husband kind of night than something “interesting” almost any day. (Unless, of course, the “interesting” is some kind of wonderful vacation!)

    Boring is good.

  2. Posted by livinginagirlsworld on November 13, 2008 at 12:25 am

    That’s my general feeling too. I have enough drama with the girls being, well girls. I just find it hard to chronical the boring even though I want to.

Leave a Reply

